Best aftermarket 7 string pickups? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-02-2002, 07:26 AM Thread Starter

Best aftermarket 7 string pickups?

I am new to the 7 string guitar - but was wondering who makes a excellent 7 string replacement pickup - like EMG, Seymour Duncan or Dimarzio and which is the best for which type of music?
I play mostly heavy, speed/power metal and need clarity, but like great tone too - and a relatively quiet pickup. Anyone?

www.Crypticvisions.com
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-02-2002, 09:37 AM

the tone zone 7 and evo7 are 2 that are very popular on this site. if you have an ibanez 7 string, you'll have to get the pickup route redone for an emg7, as they are larger than the routes...
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-02-2002, 10:02 AM

The 707 sounds nice, but as stated requires rerouting. I like the evo7 in the bridge of my 2027 which has a nice clear defined sound with gain. I don't really like the PAF7 to be honest, maybe I am missing something there, but it's a bit bland.

a Seymour Duncan JB7(bridge) with a Jazz7 in the neck seems to be another nicew choise

I still quite like blazeIIs , they are quite nice and dirty , very metal indeed
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-02-2002, 10:09 AM

The problem with EMGs, aside from having to do routing to install the 707s, is that they tend to sound very sterile. The great thing about them is that they're very high output and very quiet. However every guitar with EMGs I've played (and I own one with EMGs...I regret putting them in) sounds almost like an electronic approxomation of what said instrument should sound like. It sounds like they engineered a sound and used the pickup as a vehicle for them.