Blocking tremolo on RG320 - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-25-2007, 09:27 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 129
Blocking tremolo on RG320

I've got a few year old (2001 ??) RG320 with the POS tremolo unit that I picked up after not playing guitar for a number of years. I have to admit, I thought many were being too critical of this tremolo about it not staying in tune. I figure, why would Ibanez design and release it if it's really that bad ?? Well, I think it really is that bad. I've stretched the strings to no end and it just won't stay in tune. My wife asks me why I'm not playing and I tell her that if the guitar is out of tune, it makes anyone sound like crap. Short of buying a different guitar, which I'd like to do someday (in fact, my brother-in-law has an RG550, a '96 model, I believe, that he'll sell me for the right $$$), I thought "block the tremolo. I remembered reading this, http://www.jemsite.com/tech/3other.htm#tremblock, and am wondering if it will work for me ??

My primary goal isn't for de-tuning, but I think it will work all the same.
hall is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-26-2007, 03:14 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725
Re: Blocking tremolo on RG320

it surely will work for you, that's the only solution. also, you can get rid of those locking pads and string-tree at the nut (à la Paul Gilbert) so that the string-changes would be easier and faster. then your RG320 will give you satisfactions. go for it!
nuno is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-26-2007, 04:12 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: IA
Posts: 531
Re: Blocking tremolo on RG320

Yea, it'd definetely work, you can also ply/wedge more thinner piece to make a big one. For me, i didnt remove the string tree since the string is too lifted up at the headstock side and when i bend the string i could hear it clicking at the nut.
madpickin03 is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-26-2007, 11:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 129
Re: Blocking tremolo on RG320

Well, it's done but I haven't played with it much since doing it. It was late... I used a regular wood "shim" (nowhere near the length of the one shown by madpickin) to take up the bulk of the space, then another part of the shim to tighten things up. Finally, removing the middle spring as explained in the guide let the block sit on the wood shim. I quickly retuned but need to "play" with it more later.
hall is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-01-2007, 09:14 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 129
Re: Blocking tremolo on RG320

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuno View Post
also, you can get rid of those locking pads and string-tree at the nut ( la Paul Gilbert) so that the string-changes would be easier and faster.
Any other reasons for removing those ?? The locking pads/nut I can understand not needing, but the tree is there to help "re-direct" the strings towards the tuners, is it not ??
hall is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-01-2007, 09:25 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: IA
Posts: 531
Re: Blocking tremolo on RG320

The trees arent 100% necessary since the headstock is tilted backwards, you wont have any string slippage problem.
madpickin03 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-01-2007, 10:07 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725
Re: Blocking tremolo on RG320

Quote:
Originally Posted by hall View Post
Any other reasons for removing those ?? The locking pads/nut I can understand not needing, but the tree is there to help "re-direct" the strings towards the tuners, is it not ??
the retainer bar isn't there to "redirect" anything. it just makes sure the strings are neatly laid on the locking nut's top, so that when you lock the pads they won't press/move the strings onto the nut's top. because they're already pressed. did you think Paul Gilbert is a dumb? anyway, see how the strings go neatly unto their tuners in this pic:


Last edited by nuno; 03-01-2007 at 10:13 AM.
nuno is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-01-2007, 01:42 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 129
Re: Blocking tremolo on RG320

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuno View Post
did you think Paul Gilbert is a dumb?
I was just asking.....
hall is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-01-2007, 05:29 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 24
Re: Blocking tremolo on RG320

This is what I'm going to do to my "bitsa" RG I'm putting together from parts on Fleabay.

I found another page that details the process - http://users.pandora.be/marnix.ghesq...ckingtrem.html

On this page it says that you can get rid of the trem springs once it's been blocked up. Has anybody tried this?

BTW - I'm going to fit EMGs into my (85 neck, 81 bridge) so I wouldn't need to ground the bridge.
greenermeanie is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-01-2007, 06:01 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 129
Re: Blocking tremolo on RG320

Since I've done this, it's REALLY a simple process. I don't know if removing all of the springs is needed or beneficial. When I removed one of the three, it really tightened up against the block. Removing the others won't do much as there's nowhere to go....

I do want to go back and make it as close to parallel as I can get it now. It's angled a bit currently.

Interesting comment about add'l sustain. Before I read that, and from playing the other evening, I swear it does sound different (better).
hall is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-02-2007, 04:06 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: IA
Posts: 531
Re: Blocking tremolo on RG320

I left the springs on mine, pulls the block and prevent it from slipping.
madpickin03 is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-02-2007, 06:07 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725
Re: Blocking tremolo on RG320

Quote:
Originally Posted by madpickin03 View Post
I left the springs on mine, pulls the block and prevent it from slipping.
+1...
you can get rid of them in an OFR or Schaller/Gotoh FRs but in Edge and Lo-Pro you better keep them.
nuno is offline  
Reply

Tags
locking nut , paul gilbert , playing guitar , retainer bar , string tree , trem springs

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modifying or blocking a kahler tremolo. sniperfrommars1 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 07-19-2011 05:51 PM
JEM 555 poor tremolo - I think I've found a solution carlos seo Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 20 08-15-2007 10:34 AM
Broken ZR tremolo... Is this common?? FastRedPonyCar All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 16 06-01-2006 04:50 PM
tremolo system for my RG320? bjamin86 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 2 05-21-2006 11:59 PM
Just a question... - about Tremolo Bridge Height Adjustment armindo__dias Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 11-03-2001 12:20 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome