which bridge??? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-10-2013, 03:09 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 39
which bridge???

ok so i have a rg320 dxqm and i need a new trem the knife blades are wore out on the studs and this this wont hold tune longer then playin a few songs...ive already changed the locking nut thinking that might be it but nope....so my question is what trem will fit in here withought any routing and im not real sure which trem it has on it now...if it helps it has the red string holders underneth for the string balls to go in...any help would be great
sinner7575 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-10-2013, 03:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,641
Re: which bridge???

Its an Edge III you have on there right now. You can typically replace those with an edge pro with no modifications.

That said, don't limit yourself. The modifications for getting any floating tremolo to fit in there are relatively minimal - you're talking a few mm of wood different between getting an OFR, Edge, Edge Pro, LoPro, Gotoh GE1996t, or even a Floyd Rose Special.

If you're willing to make that kind of modification to an instrument, its always worth doing it right - halfway houses are the kind you wanna move out of real fast.
GuitarBizarre is offline  
post #3 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-10-2013, 04:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 39
Re: which bridge???

out of all the pics ive looked at im not sure its an edge 3 and for sum reason it wont let me upload pics from my phone the edge 3 has the red thing in the back right mine has one small red thing attached to each saddle u cant see them unless u take the back plate off....it almost looks like a LO TRS II
sinner7575 is offline  
post #4 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-10-2013, 06:01 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 19
Re: which bridge???

Hi there!

I do have a RG320QMTG body at home and it is routed for the Edge Pro II (not Edge III) which means its a 2003-04 guitar.

It looks like yours is from that same era, same EP II trem, not bad really.
It would be naturally useful if you could post one photo showing the trem area, just to make sure.

Anyway and in either case, you can order just a spare couple of posts and the knife edge from Ibanez, no need to go for a complete, expensive trem...

Cheers, JPB
IBZeP is offline  
post #5 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-10-2013, 06:08 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 39
Re: which bridge???

ive had the trem out but it doesnt have the changable blades its all one piece
sinner7575 is offline  
post #6 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-10-2013, 06:10 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 39
Re: which bridge???

the blade is part of the baseplate and no markings on the trem except ibanez...thats what gets me stumped
sinner7575 is offline  
post #7 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-10-2013, 06:12 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 39
Re: which bridge???

heres a link that showes what i have on it now http://www.ibanezrules.com/tech/setup/angle.htm
sinner7575 is offline  
post #8 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-10-2013, 06:29 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,619
Re: which bridge???

If you have the red string seats and the single knife plate it's an Edge Pro 2. You can direct replace with the Edge Pro but you'll still have to replace the anchors and studs to get the full benefits.
Rich is offline  
post #9 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-10-2013, 06:31 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 19
Re: which bridge???

Hi again!

Aside from the old Edge / Lo Pro and even older Pro Rock'R tremolo blocks (both made in Japan), I don't think that any other Ibanez cast tremolo does state the model.

But I'm sure that yours is an EP II. The knife edge is not part of the baseplate, it's only imbedded in the lower face and held in place by 3 specific screws, plus the 6 screws holding the saddles (as it's the knife edge that has the threaded holes for them - being hardened steel they'll not strip, well thought).

Checking ibanez.com/parts it's possible to see that you'll need two 2EL2-CB posts and the knife edge which part number I was not able to find, yet.

Cheers, JPB
IBZeP is offline  
post #10 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-10-2013, 06:56 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 39
Re: which bridge???

thanks alot...ive been tryin to post sum pics to help out but its not giving me the option on my mobile so itll have to wait till i get home and upload them from the pc
sinner7575 is offline  
post #11 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-11-2013, 01:10 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 39
Re: which bridge???

heres a pic.of the bridge

Last edited by sinner7575; 09-11-2013 at 01:28 AM.
sinner7575 is offline  
post #12 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-11-2013, 01:32 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 39
Re: which bridge???

hrres a better pic

Last edited by sinner7575; 05-05-2014 at 12:31 PM.
sinner7575 is offline  
post #13 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-11-2013, 05:17 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,203
Reviews: 120
Re: which bridge???

Edge Pro II. Edge Pro is a direct replacement.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #14 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-11-2013, 05:50 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 19
Re: which bridge???

Quote:
Originally Posted by LonePhantom View Post
Edge Pro II. Edge Pro is a direct replacement.
Hi!

Not exacly (also the reverse is impossible, by the way).
Edge Pro II baseplate is shorter than the Edge Pro's (or than any other Ibanez FR type), so it's the routing in the body, which may bring one or two fitting and intonation range problems.

Also, aside from those geometry differences (including advanced sustain block with the black, shorter springs) the EP II does have replaceable knife edge, so the only true "downgrade" from the EP is not having the string pads on the saddles.

But neither Edge or Lo Pro Edge have those pads and are very good all the same.
Those pads were included in the EP saddles also to make piezo versions easier to build using the very same saddles.

Cheers, JPB
IBZeP is offline  
post #15 of 34 (permalink) Old 09-11-2013, 06:33 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,203
Reviews: 120
Re: which bridge???

Really? We've had a number of people confirm that you can do this swap successfully.
LonePhantom is offline  
Reply

Tags
tremolo bridge

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floyd Upgrades BRIDGE! Adam Reiver made a bridge! pics inside dakotaplaysguitar Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 51 09-26-2010 08:58 PM
Just installed bridge humbucker... now middle/bridge sounds funny Bun-Bun Pickups & wiring 0 02-26-2010 02:40 AM
Just finished wiring and my bridge pup sounds like a blend of bridge and neck GuitarEvan07 Pickups & wiring 6 06-24-2009 12:15 AM
hard choise: Blaze Neck in bridge vs. Blaze Bridge in bridge... MF_Kitten Pickups & wiring 13 04-23-2007 11:33 AM
fixed bridge on a floating bridge ibanez..questions Ki swordsman Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 15 10-17-2005 08:43 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome