bridge ajustments with heavier strings - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-04-2004, 07:56 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4
bridge ajustments with heavier strings

hi fellow 7-stringers.

some days ago i bought a rg7620 and when i was stringing it up today (with 10-52 + 70 as B, standard tuning) i had some problems with the bridge. as the lo-pro edge doesnt allow you to use more than 3 springs i had a hard time compensating for the strings.

i have read here that some of you use pretty heavy guage on your 7 strings so im asking how you solve this.

thanks,

Kalle
KalleE_G is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-04-2004, 11:25 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,989
I'm pretty sure you can use more than 3 springs, but I'll let someone else come in and comment more on that.
Two hands31 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-04-2004, 12:14 PM
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 291
an option is taking out the little thing that holds the springs in and putting springs in the screw holes..
Shakma!! is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-04-2004, 12:38 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shakma!!
an option is taking out the little thing that holds the springs in and putting springs in the screw holes..
thats what ive been thinking of lately. i just hope they wont jump out when im pulling the bar upwards
KalleE_G is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-04-2004, 02:56 PM
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 291
they shouldnt. they dont on guitars that dont have those little plates on there. They hold in on regular floyds just fine. One of my friends has a Jackson w/ Five springs in it lol, i dont see why it'd be different.
Also, on one of my old jacksons, the only time it came out was when i pulled ALL The way back ,but i had them loose cause i had 8 guage strings on there anyway
Shakma!! is offline  
Reply

Tags
guage strings , pro edge

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edge zero e standard tuning on heavier strings Misza Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 8 02-01-2014 01:45 PM
Strings pop out from bridge(where inserts are) WITH PIC aznricey Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 6 03-20-2011 07:12 AM
Buzzing issues after going to heavier strings? jestre700 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 12-27-2010 06:33 PM
Strings keep going flat with ZR bridge Joshu Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 0 03-08-2009 06:31 PM
OPkay my strings break at the bridge Vaiworship Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 11 12-24-2001 07:27 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome