Can I put .12 guage on my RG - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-26-2008, 05:00 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 48
Can I put .12 guage on my RG

Can I put .12 gauge string on my rg350 and tune to C Standard with proper setup? I am concerned that the saddles on the bridge aren't big enough?
ixelion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-26-2008, 05:04 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Finland, H*LL YEAH!
Posts: 790
Re: Can I put .12 guage on my RG

Sure. My RG's tuned with .11 to .52 (BEADF#B). Just added a fourth spring in the back.
Ad_Astra is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-26-2008, 07:29 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: racine, WI
Posts: 1,499
Reviews: 7
Re: Can I put .12 guage on my RG

Wow I use a 11-52 tuned to dropped C and D standard. They don't feel loose or buzzy in B?
brothersnowgone is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-26-2008, 08:03 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ. USA
Posts: 105
Re: Can I put .12 guage on my RG

I've done it before, tuned to C. Strings did not fit in the nut too great but it was better than tuning to A w/ .63 on the low string! It will sound like a$$ if you don't have the right pickups in there. Tuning low like that w/ a floating trem is always a serious pain too. Really hard to get everything in-tune and harder to get it to stay that way.
Also, something to note, you'll likely not achieve good intonation. My RG470 got close but never on the money.

Last edited by Bowie; 09-26-2008 at 08:08 PM.
Bowie is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-27-2008, 07:37 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Finland, H*LL YEAH!
Posts: 790
Re: Can I put .12 guage on my RG

Quote:
Originally Posted by brothersnowgone View Post
Wow I use a 11-52 tuned to dropped C and D standard. They don't feel loose or buzzy in B?
No, not at all. The strings feel like a normal set. And I just love playing with B tuning.
Ad_Astra is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-18-2010, 04:07 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 13
Re: Can I put .12 guage on my RG

Just get the special dropped C d'addario strings, work perfect!
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
String guage for Eb? Kemono Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 08-11-2007 04:05 AM
low b string guage? cmd130 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 5 05-26-2007 07:10 AM
guage change UVguy Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 07-16-2005 02:18 AM
String guage chage IVsakeN Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 13 01-29-2003 12:31 AM
guage question - detuning & string guage yoni162 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 7 03-04-2002 06:57 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome