can't decide on which 7 string to buy - RG prestige only - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-17-2010, 07:47 AM Thread Starter

Reviews: 1
can't decide on which 7 string to buy - RG prestige only

I've been playing an RG550EX for over 15 years now and would finnally like to experiance the hybe behind a 7 string.

For the style of music i play - i usually need the strings to have a little less tension - so I'd tune 10 gauges down to D or a 9 gauges down to Eb. I play alot of leads so ideally I'd like low action beyond the higher frets.

Now which guitar should do the trick?
RGD2127Z ISH
RGA 4272DSH
RG 1527Z BK /MGW/ RB

non 7's i'm looking at are
RG4570 HBK
RG3620 HBK

has anyone played the above? How does the neck compare to the RG550? Also I'm leaning towards the HBK models as they boast a thinner neck - Is there a big enough difference to choose them over other RG's?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-18-2010, 02:44 AM

Re: can't decide on which 7 string to buy - RG prestige only

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trickae View Post
I've been playing an RG550EX for over 15 years now and would finnally like to experiance the hybe behind a 7 string.

For the style of music i play - i usually need the strings to have a little less tension - so I'd tune 10 gauges down to D or a 9 gauges down to Eb. I play alot of leads so ideally I'd like low action beyond the higher frets.

Now which guitar should do the trick?
RGD2127Z ISH
RGA 4272DSH
RG 1527Z BK /MGW/ RB

non 7's i'm looking at are
RG4570 HBK
RG3620 HBK

has anyone played the above? How does the neck compare to the RG550? Also I'm leaning towards the HBK models as they boast a thinner neck - Is there a big enough difference to choose them over other RG's?
Keep it simple. Get a blue 1527.