Can't tune my RG655 after switching string gauge - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-02-2015, 06:33 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Israel
Posts: 1
Can't tune my RG655 after switching string gauge

Hello everyone. I came across this site, and thought I might be able to find a solution to my problem here.

I just bought an RG655 a couple of days ago, and everything was fine until I decided to change the stock strings, and switched from .9 to .10. I've been trying to tune the guitar since yesterday, but it isn't working. In addition I just broke a string today, lol. I should note that the 4th, 5th, and 6th strings are heavier than standard in the .10 set that I applied (.28, .38, .50, respectively).

I understand that I will need to re-setup my guitar, but I would need it to be in tune first, which I can't work around. Also the bridge tilts up away from the guitar body as I tighten the strings. Like, it tilts up way too high, even after I adjusted the spring tension (maybe I had to tighten it more...).

So, how can I tune it? I couldn't in no way get it even close to tuned. The tuning is way too messed up now. I'm afraid I would break another string if I don't do it right...
ameer27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-02-2015, 06:45 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: england
Posts: 17
Re: Can't tune my RG655 after switching string gauge

Going up from .9 to .10 generally needs another spring added as you won't have enough tension

I had to add a 4th spring when i went from 9-42 gauge too 9-46 on my Jem due to not having enough tension, so i assume its the same for you.
If you already have 4 springs then loosen the 2 screws in the back of your guitar till the bridge sits correctly.
jackjb is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-02-2015, 08:05 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Norcross, GA
Posts: 31
Re: Can't tune my RG655 after switching string gauge

You need an additional spring, you should be good then.
Chaoticgeetarz is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-02-2015, 08:32 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Melbourne, FL 32940
Posts: 3,348
Re: Can't tune my RG655 after switching string gauge

No you don't have to add a spring.

You can turn the screws in more to add additional tension.
If you hit the body with the trem claw before you get to pitch, you need tighter springs.
Or you can cut one coil off of each of the springs you have and bend down the next coil to grab the claw again.

I have 40+ Ibanez guitars with 10s and OE Edge, Edge Pro, Lo Pro and Edge II trems on them.
None of them have more than three springs.
sebastian is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-02-2015, 09:28 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 983
Re: Can't tune my RG655 after switching string gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebastian View Post
No you don't have to add a spring.

You can turn the screws in more to add additional tension.
If you hit the body with the trem claw before you get to pitch, you need tighter springs.
Or you can cut one coil off of each of the springs you have and bend down the next coil to grab the claw again.

I have 40+ Ibanez guitars with 10s and OE Edge, Edge Pro, Lo Pro and Edge II trems on them.
None of them have more than three springs.
same here, my 7-string UV has 3 springs as well.
PS
40+ ?????????? How do you take care of them all? I cannot cope with 6!
panix is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-02-2015, 09:32 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nagoya, Japan
Posts: 5,174
Re: Can't tune my RG655 after switching string gauge

I tuned to C# standard with 3 strings on my old RG350EXZ (indo). No problem at all, and I was going from E standard to C#, and going from 9s to 11s. You just need to put more spring tension and it'll be fine.
MatiasTolkki is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-02-2015, 09:33 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Norcross, GA
Posts: 31
Re: Can't tune my RG655 after switching string gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebastian View Post
No you don't have to add a spring.

You can turn the screws in more to add additional tension.
If you hit the body with the trem claw before you get to pitch, you need tighter springs.
Or you can cut one coil off of each of the springs you have and bend down the next coil to grab the claw again.

I have 40+ Ibanez guitars with 10s and OE Edge, Edge Pro, Lo Pro and Edge II trems on them.
None of them have more than three springs.
Lets see some pics!
Chaoticgeetarz is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-02-2015, 09:38 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Melbourne, FL 32940
Posts: 3,348
Smile Re: Can't tune my RG655 after switching string gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaoticgeetarz View Post
Lets see some pics!
Here's my Photobucket link-

Most of my guitars and some BMX Bikes too!

http://s878.photobucket.com/user/bit...?sort=6&page=1
sebastian is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-02-2015, 09:50 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Norcross, GA
Posts: 31
Re: Can't tune my RG655 after switching string gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebastian View Post
Here's my Photobucket link-

Most of my guitars and some BMX Bikes too!

http://s878.photobucket.com/user/bit...?sort=6&page=1
Very Nice Collection!
Chaoticgeetarz is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-02-2015, 01:58 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Mexico
Posts: 496
Re: Can't tune my RG655 after switching string gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebastian View Post
No you don't have to add a spring.

You can turn the screws in more to add additional tension.
If you hit the body with the trem claw before you get to pitch, you need tighter springs.
Or you can cut one coil off of each of the springs you have and bend down the next coil to grab the claw again.

I have 40+ Ibanez guitars with 10s and OE Edge, Edge Pro, Lo Pro and Edge II trems on them.
None of them have more than three springs.
^This, you definitely don't need an extra spring, i've went from 9s to 10s several times in most of my guitars with just the 3 stock springs.

Anyway going from 9s to 10s will mess up your tuning about half step down more or less (E to Eb), that is a minimal change and will only need a small adjustment of the spring claw, every time you adjust the spring claw you mess up the tuning, one rookie mistake is to adjust the spring claw until the trem is in zero position then adjust the tuning, since the tuning will be off adjusting the tuning then will also mess with the trem position, so what you'll need to do is to do small adjustments to the spring claw and then retune, do this process until the guitar is both in tune and in zero position, also i highly recommend to read Ibanezrules tech section.
Rafafas is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-14-2015, 02:00 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 323
Re: Can't tune my RG655 after switching string gauge

If the springs are currently in parallel, you can try putting them in the "arrow" position, which adds a little bit of tension. It's not like adding a 4th spring is bad though, it's just preference, I don't know why people are making it seem like it's wrong. I personally like the added tension on the trem from the 4th spring, that way I don't have to press my hand all the way down to the body for big drops. For me, the slightly stiffer trem makes it feel like it's easier to shift to specific pitches with the arm more accurately. Plus, if you have an extra spring lying around, it's probably quicker to toss it in than cut all your springs, and once you cut springs there's no going back (although springs are inexpensive). It's not like the retention bar does anything anyway, I've never had a spring pop out while playing. In a case like Matias', going from 9's to 11's but dropping down 1.5 steps in tunings acts to kind of even things out, which is why he didn't need any spring adjusting. 11's in C# standard is pretty similar to 9's in E standard, probably a little less floppy
Steveche is offline  
Reply

Tags
bridge , edge , floyd , ibanez , rg655

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drop-Tune String Gauge - What do you use? bob oakman All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 15 07-01-2014 09:20 AM
Pick Gauge to String Gauge Rico010 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 4 01-31-2010 06:34 AM
7-String Tune-O-Matic? 7-String String Saver Saddles? Drache713 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 1 12-03-2002 11:27 PM
Adjustments before switching string gauge w/ blocked trem? ericbrowning Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 09-10-2001 03:10 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome