Change tremolo system / rg 370dxleft - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-11-2011, 10:51 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: greece
Posts: 3
Change tremolo system / rg 370dxleft

I have rg 370dxl , can i change the edge 3 , with smthing better, such as edge pro, or an original floyd rose??
qwerqwer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-11-2011, 11:21 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Baltimore md
Posts: 4
Re: Change tremolo system / rg 370dxleft

I'm sure you can as long as the bridge posts are the same distance apart.
Lesterblester74 is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-11-2011, 12:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: greece
Posts: 3
Re: Change tremolo system / rg 370dxleft

Do you know if edge pro fits?
qwerqwer is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-11-2011, 01:11 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Baltimore md
Posts: 4
Re: Change tremolo system / rg 370dxleft

if your guitar already has that edge 3 in it then the edge pro should fit as long as the posts are the same distance apart which they should be.
Lesterblester74 is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-11-2011, 03:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,174
Reviews: 120
Re: Change tremolo system / rg 370dxleft

Doing a SEARCH on this site will give you some great results!

http://www.jemsite.com/forums/f21/ed...olo-68062.html
LonePhantom is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-11-2011, 05:08 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: Change tremolo system / rg 370dxleft

Quote:
Originally Posted by LonePhantom View Post
Doing a SEARCH on this site will give you some great results!

http://www.jemsite.com/forums/f21/ed...olo-68062.html
apparently that's too much work...... I want INSTANT GRATIFICATION!!!!.........lol

BTW.... why is it that we spend so much time making those detailed, picture laden posts that are loaded with information such as this??? Oh yea!! so that no one will read them..........lmao
RGTFanatic is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-13-2011, 03:51 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: greece
Posts: 3
Re: Change tremolo system / rg 370dxleft

Results:
edge pro fits
ofr fits
qwerqwer is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-13-2011, 06:54 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Re: Change tremolo system / rg 370dxleft

I have an RGT42DXFM that I just purchased used in very good condition. I can confirm that the Original Floyd Rose fits. The side that the trem arm screws into is really close to the routing, the other side has a little bit of a gap. The saddle clamp bolts clear the rear of the routing for pulling up. I can also confirm that Schaller Floyd Rose studs will thread into the stock Edge 3 body inserts.

I was pretty excited to get this guitar. I bought the OFR and Dimarzio Evolution neck and bridge pickups and installed them before really playing it. The Edge 3 I removed had crinkled metal on the knife edges where they met the posts. Really poor quality there. So I get all this stuff installed and I spend several hours yesterday trying to get a setup. My main guitar for many years has been a '91 RG550. It has a great low action with very little fret buzz. The RGT42 requires a much higher action to make it to where the high strings are bendable all the way up the neck without choking them. There is an especially bad spot bending the high E at the 17th 18th fret. I've had the truss rod adjusted through the whole range of recommended neck reliefs, I just can't come anywhere near the action of the 550. My Ovation acoustic has a better action than this guitar. Sadly, it looks like a fret levelling needs to be done. I was sort of wanting a prestige without the full cost, with parts I could remove when (if) I sold it. But it looks like I got a lemon instead.
burpootus is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-13-2011, 07:05 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,291
Reviews: 98
Re: Change tremolo system / rg 370dxleft

Quote:
Originally Posted by RGTFanatic View Post
apparently that's too much work...... I want INSTANT GRATIFICATION!!!!.........lol

BTW.... why is it that we spend so much time making those detailed, picture laden posts that are loaded with information such as this??? Oh yea!! so that no one will read them..........lmao




AlaskaBat is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-13-2011, 09:41 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Re: Change tremolo system / rg 370dxleft

Quote:
Originally Posted by burpootus View Post
I have an RGT42DXFM that I just purchased used in very good condition. I can confirm that the Original Floyd Rose fits. The side that the trem arm screws into is really close to the routing, the other side has a little bit of a gap. The saddle clamp bolts clear the rear of the routing for pulling up. I can also confirm that Schaller Floyd Rose studs will thread into the stock Edge 3 body inserts.

I was pretty excited to get this guitar. I bought the OFR and Dimarzio Evolution neck and bridge pickups and installed them before really playing it. The Edge 3 I removed had crinkled metal on the knife edges where they met the posts. Really poor quality there. So I get all this stuff installed and I spend several hours yesterday trying to get a setup. My main guitar for many years has been a '91 RG550. It has a great low action with very little fret buzz. The RGT42 requires a much higher action to make it to where the high strings are bendable all the way up the neck without choking them. There is an especially bad spot bending the high E at the 17th 18th fret. I've had the truss rod adjusted through the whole range of recommended neck reliefs, I just can't come anywhere near the action of the 550. My Ovation acoustic has a better action than this guitar. Sadly, it looks like a fret levelling needs to be done. I was sort of wanting a prestige without the full cost, with parts I could remove when (if) I sold it. But it looks like I got a lemon instead.
I'm going to go ahead and pull my foot out of my mouth...I put a shim under the saddle for the high E and made things a lot better. From reading it seems that shimming the saddles is a necessity when setting up a new FR, the radius isn't a match for the neck.
burpootus is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-13-2011, 10:22 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plainfield, Illinois
Posts: 2,810
Reviews: 11
Re: Change tremolo system / rg 370dxleft

just get an edge pro. better trem and the radius might be a bit better as well. but its not cheap
D.M.RG7620 is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-28-2011, 02:53 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: West Sussex UK
Posts: 92
Reviews: 9
Re: Change tremolo system / rg 370dxleft

I have a Lo Pro in my 370DX. You'll either need the Schaller posts or have the standard inserts drilled out to fit the locking inserts. The posts that come with the Lo Pro don't fit the Edge inserts. The Schaller posts will cost you about $10 and screw staright into the existing Edge inserts. Also, you'll find it might not stay in tune too well so use some Planet waves Lubrikit or Nut sauce and that will cure any tuning stablility issues you may come across. You may also have to dremmel out the tiniest amount of wood at the front of where the tremelo sits as the tremelo may foul the body of the guitar. It is only a tiny amout and unless you use a magnifying glass you won't see it.
longi is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-28-2011, 03:17 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 20
Re: Change tremolo system / rg 370dxleft

Will gotoh trem fot in edge III cavity?
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-28-2011, 03:36 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,291
Reviews: 98
Re: Change tremolo system / rg 370dxleft

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Will gotoh trem fot in edge III cavity?
As mentioned above--a simple search wil provide the answer:
http://www.jemsite.com/forums/f21/ed...olo-68062.html



AlaskaBat is offline  
Reply

Tags
tremolo system upgrade

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching my tremolo system Yelgath Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 6 11-21-2008 11:54 PM
tremolo system from rg 770 steini All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 8 09-12-2008 04:47 AM
tremolo system for my RG320? bjamin86 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 2 05-21-2006 11:59 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome