Cheap Ibanez for Project Guitar - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-15-2005, 04:47 PM Thread Starter

Cheap Ibanez for Project Guitar

I've been after a lefty Ibanez w/ Wizard Prestige neck with a fixed bridge. Seeing as they don't make lefty RGAs and the necks on the SZ series are more bulky I've decided to buy an RG and convert it to a fixed bridge.

This is my first project guitar and my DIY skills are almost non existent so i'm not too keen on buying a 1570L in case I mess up. So basically what I'd like to know is how low I can go in the RG series with the necks still being fairly decent? Preferably as close to Wizard Prestige as possible!

I can get a 570L but it's still a little more than I want to risk spending. There's also 470Ls and 370Ls and I believe there are 270Ls? If I can I'd prefer the lowest but i'm not sure if the quality would be too low and I'd be disappointed with the finished result.

I'm hoping I can go low here since I won't be using the trem, so tuning stability problems won't be an issue here. It's all down to the necks.

What do you think I should go for? I can't go out and try these for myself as no one here stocks left handed Ibanez. Thanks!

Last edited by integra; 08-15-2005 at 04:57 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-16-2005, 03:50 AM

Re: Cheap Ibanez for Project Guitar

I blocked the trem of my S270 (it's not an RG series but I imagine its quality is comparable to an RG270). I didn't see the point in doing the full trem-to-fixed conversion because it stays in tune beautifully and intonation is spot on. The strings feel very different, much more responsive, and the tone is 'bigger'. That's with a crappy ILT single-locking tremolo, mind you.