Concerned about my SZ Fretboard - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-14-2006, 02:02 AM Thread Starter

Concerned about my SZ Fretboard

Recently i was discussing guitars with a friend of mine and i showed him some photos of my guitar, the first thing he remarked on was the uber lightness of the cut of rose wood on my fretboard and how thats a bad thing and a darker fretboard signifies a better cut and apparently that sounds better.
Now forgive my knowledge because i am still learning about these sorts of things but he showed me a picture of his SZ (same model as mine exactly) and his fretboard was way way way darker than mine.

Is this a problem?
Is it possibly a manufacturing defect.

Should i be concerned.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-14-2006, 03:02 AM

Re: Concerned about my SZ Fretboard

Maybe you can post your picture? Or you want to check in Harmony Central? There's a good thread on SZ series... Alot help in there...
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-14-2006, 03:13 AM Thread Starter

I'm chargin the battery for the digital camera i'll post a picture soon.
post #4 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-14-2006, 04:08 AM

No, nothing wrong with it at all. Dont listen to your friend. Its possibly just a lighter shade of rosewood. Remember this, all woods have different colours and shades, so dont go thinking there is anything wrong with your fretboard. Because there isnt.

If you want to get it a little darker, put some Lem Oil on the fretboard. Easy to get hold of, its cheap, and all you have to do is rub it on. That should darken it up somewhat.
post #5 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-14-2006, 04:14 AM Thread Starter

Thanks,

I'm just new to this kinda stuff heh... So i need to question just about everything. I"m learning tho.