Considering a purchase on this RG550...need help!! - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-27-2019, 06:12 PM Thread Starter

Hey everyone!!! I am currently in need of a versatile guitar with a fast thin neck that i could play and literally carry around with me anywhere, many have recommended me with Ibanez RG’s (i always prefer superstrats over anything). I am very new to the ibanez world and had only played an RG2550z and RG350, and i am in love with their necks (i have a very short fingers).

After a lot of browsing and understanding the “Golden Era” of ibanez i think I’m going to buy a vintage RG550.

A vintage “Golden Era” RG550 is actually quite rare in indonesia, especially in mint condition, the price for the super beat up is around $300USD, and to be honest, I haven’t found even one made in the 80’s.

So after sometimes, i found this 1991 RG550 that had been modified, 85% physical state with some paint chips, and i believe it is a deluxe or DX due to its lo-pro trem system and mirror pickguard..please CMIIW!!....it costs at $560USD

And here are the mods on the guitar:
- Pickup changed to:
Neck: Seymour Duncan SH-1 59 model
Middle: Seymour Duncan SDBR Duckbuckers
Bridge: Seymour Duncan SH-12 Zebra George Lynch Screamin Demon model
- Refreted with Jescar FS 57110-s
- Ernie ball 5 way strat switch
- Ernie ball 500k potensio meter (Volume)
- And 2 toggle switch for coil splits and etc

It came with a hardcase, and there seemed no visible cracks at the bolts in the neck. I checked its serial number and it was made in fujigen-plant in 1991

So my questions are:
- is this guitar worth buying? If not, what are your recommendations?