Crack in RG Trem Hole - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-03-2007, 08:09 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16
Crack in RG Trem Hole

i took apart my RG today to give it a good cleaning and upon inspection i found a body crack that runs almost the entire depth of the body along the back of one of the holes that my trem posts sit in. what should i do about this ? im not ever looking to resell the guitar and i had considered just epoxying in the crack but i figured id check here if there is a better remedy. thanks in advace :]
xdos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-03-2007, 08:56 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 4,108
Re: Crack in RG Trem Hole

do you have an edge pro with no locking studs? it would be interesting if it was because I wonder if non locking studs do that sometimes. But how you describe it sounds like a giant crack which I don't ever like to see giant cracks in my guitar But I don't know if it is something like bad, filling the crack might work but let some1 with more knowledge know
newbieguitarmaker is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-03-2007, 11:18 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: IA, USA
Posts: 1,007
Re: Crack in RG Trem Hole

a non locking stud edge pro shouldn't cause cracks like that, it would be more likely to round wander a bit in the hole making a more oval like hole for the trem post.
nightfiend14 is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-03-2007, 11:38 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16
Re: Crack in RG Trem Hole

its a regular edge with the locking studs
xdos is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-04-2007, 12:56 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 206
Re: Crack in RG Trem Hole

Take pictures, man! Host it before you post it!
TommyGuitar is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-04-2007, 10:08 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16
Re: Crack in RG Trem Hole

sister is away on rodeo for the weekend with my camera so those'll have to wait untill sunday. i wasnt having tuning issues. i just found it odd to be cracked when im not much of a trem user. im not suprised though, i did buy it used. quite a while back.
xdos is offline  
Reply

Tags
locking stud , locking studs

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ZR Trem on an RG? Kemono Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 07-10-2006 11:59 PM
new edge trem on RG 320 question on angle FireAndSpirit Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 0 10-16-2005 10:37 PM
F/S Ibanez RG with Dimarzio's and Wilkinson Trem robbiedp Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 06-13-2005 04:17 AM
Can You Put A Zr Trem On A Rg Body???? jl2556 All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 2 05-25-2005 11:28 PM
guys, plez help me with my new rg 450 trem lock rainss Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 9 06-04-2002 06:51 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome