Dissassembling a guitar. - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-02-2012, 07:41 PM Thread Starter

Thumbs down Dissassembling a guitar.

I just bought an rg 7621, and man this thing is filthy when you get right down to it. There's some kind of corrosion or filth all up in the bridge and all over most of the screws, including the ones that hold the neck onto the body. Further, the freaking fretboard reeks of patchouli and its driving me crazy.

Im wanting to completely disassemble it to clean it, but honestly I've never done it before so im a little concerned. Is there anything I need to know about removing a fixed bridge and bolt on neck?

Also, how the hell do you get the smell of patchouli out of a guitar fretboard?

Ugh.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-02-2012, 08:15 PM

Re: Dissassembling a guitar.

save all the screws!!!
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-02-2012, 08:19 PM

No really...It shouldn't be a problem considering it's a fixed bridge. The plus is that you'll get to know your guitar in a whole new light!! Just make sure that you remember how things were as you take them apart. Like for instance, if your neck has shims in the neck pocket, just make a note how they were oriented in the pocket and set them in a safe place while you are cleaning. Use some lemon oil on the fretboard to condition it and to maybe help in taking care of the smell.
The only way you'll truly learn how to do your own setups is to take the guitar completely apart! That's how I learned.
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-02-2012, 10:21 PM

Reviews: 1

Taking pictures before you disassemble it and along the way could be helpful also just in case you can't remember anything.
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 01-02-2012, 11:17 PM

Quote: