Does changing string height while strings are tuned normally damage the post/edge? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 07-10-2015, 11:10 PM Thread Starter

Does changing string height while strings are tuned normally damage the post/edge?

Hey,

I'm pretty new to floating terms in general, but I just lowered my string height while my strings are tuned normally, and I read that doing so would wear the post or the knife edge because of the high tension of the strings.

Is this a legit claim? I have read online and there has been people claiming that it doesn't wear at all, of that it does.

Also, the bridge is now lowered such that the sides of the knife edge cannot be seen, will that be a problem?

The trem is an original Ibanez Edge.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 43 (permalink) Old 07-11-2015, 10:26 AM

Re: Does changing string height while strings are tuned normally damage the post/edge

No, that's not true. You would not damage your guitar in any way but you can unscrew your locking nuts before change the height. You have to retune it anyway. Only by using the trem normally you increase and decrease tension a "hundred" times more. About the bridge height, thatīs not a problem too, but itīs not normal that you have to lower it that much. Whatīs going on? Too much relief on your neck??
post #3 of 43 (permalink) Old 07-11-2015, 11:52 AM

Re: Does changing string height while strings are tuned normally damage the post/edge

Never change tremolo height on full tension.

It is very optimistic to claim no damage, when you spin one piece of metal against knife edge with cca 50kg tension between them?!
post #4 of 43 (permalink) Old 07-11-2015, 11:57 AM

Yeah iīm a very optimistic person and maybe all my guitars are special