Edge-Pro II to Lo-Pro Edge - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-23-2006, 10:50 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Edge-Pro II to Lo-Pro Edge

Quickly one.

http://www.jemsite.com/jem/trems.htm
"...you can replace one with the other with no modfications"

But..do I have to bore(or something), if I change my bridge to Lo-Pro Edge from Edge-Pro II in my rg370?
Mathias is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-23-2006, 01:30 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,152
Re: Edge-Pro II to Lo-Pro Edge

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathias
"...you can replace one with the other with no modfications"
that quote refers only to original edge and lo-pro models.
damo7v is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-23-2006, 01:54 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Odense S, Denmark
Posts: 9,952
Re: Edge-Pro II to Lo-Pro Edge

Yup, you will need to do some routing .

Regards

André



fettouhi is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-25-2006, 05:21 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Re: Edge-Pro II to Lo-Pro Edge

Thanx for your info.

Where I can find measures of lo-pro?
Mathias is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-25-2006, 04:04 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Moncton, NB, Canada
Posts: 788
Re: Edge-Pro II to Lo-Pro Edge

I actually just tried this process 20 minutes ago... it ALMOST fit lol so close.. but when I went to put the TRS lopro into the edge I slot, it was way off lol

Guess ill have to just keep it as is for now, and someday buy a jt580lp or so, heard its the only thing that can replace a lo-TRS II =[
NickCormier is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-25-2006, 04:39 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Odense S, Denmark
Posts: 9,952
Re: Edge-Pro II to Lo-Pro Edge

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickCormier
I actually just tried this process 20 minutes ago... it ALMOST fit lol so close.. but when I went to put the TRS lopro into the edge I slot, it was way off lol

Guess ill have to just keep it as is for now, and someday buy a jt580lp or so, heard its the only thing that can replace a lo-TRS II =[
If you have a lo TRS II trem you can swap with an OFR directly.

Regards

André



fettouhi is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-25-2006, 05:40 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 174
Re: Edge-Pro II to Lo-Pro Edge

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickCormier
Guess ill have to just keep it as is for now, and someday buy a jt580lp or so, heard its the only thing that can replace a lo-TRS II =[
Why change to JT-580LP? It´s basically the same thing with a different brand name on it. Why not try OFR?
Heka is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-01-2006, 10:25 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Re: Edge-Pro II to Lo-Pro Edge

lol the jackson floyd may be a copy and may be cheap but at least its not the edge pro 2. It's actually a much better bridge and if it is a direct drop in i would certainly consider droping in my rg320
ShadowSong is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-23-2006, 06:47 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 352
Re: Edge-Pro II to Lo-Pro Edge

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think routing is that hard. I heard the only thing you need to do is widen the trem studs [the holes into which the actual studs go in to] and cut a small amount of wood from the face of the guitar and it should just drop right in.
AKMG is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-23-2006, 07:09 PM
Dee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 渋谷区、東京都
Posts: 8,514
Re: Edge-Pro II to Lo-Pro Edge

Go for the OFR.
Dee is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-23-2006, 08:52 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,186
Reviews: 120
Re: Edge-Pro II to Lo-Pro Edge

Or the Gotoh

If you are replacing a LO-TRS and want to put in an Edge I actually just used a dremmel and some hand sanding to make the route more even and it came out quite nicely.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-24-2006, 02:13 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 352
Re: Edge-Pro II to Lo-Pro Edge

Quote:
Originally Posted by LonePhantom
Or the Gotoh

If you are replacing a LO-TRS and want to put in an Edge I actually just used a dremmel and some hand sanding to make the route more even and it came out quite nicely.
What about if I want to replace an Edge III with an Original Edge?
AKMG is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-24-2006, 03:46 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,186
Reviews: 120
Re: Edge-Pro II to Lo-Pro Edge

I guess if the posts are at the same points you could do that too.
LonePhantom is offline  
Reply

Tags
pro edge , trem studs

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edge III swap for another Edge model trem? lespaulreedsmith All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 39 12-21-2017 06:11 PM
Edge mysteries solved!!......? - Answers to some common ques Jason Stone Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 18 05-27-2008 08:35 AM
I just put an Edge in my RG470! DirtyBird31 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 10 09-13-2007 11:22 PM
edge, lo pro and edge pro are 100% drop in fit dex Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 47 10-18-2005 11:29 AM
lo pro edge vs edge pro 7 cakewalkr7 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 02-10-2005 11:23 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome