Edge Pro saddle problem... - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-29-2007, 08:10 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 21
Unhappy Edge Pro saddle problem...

...Basically, I don't remember seeing this before. My Edge Pro saddles are properly intonated (or were when it was set up), and the high E to A saddles are level with each other (height). The low E, however, is not, and has 'sat up', a bit, and is therefore a bit higher than the other saddles (I can post pics if necessary). I took an allen key to the saddle and lowered it to the level of the others. Retuned, and it was fine, briefly. The low E rapidly lost tuning, and it continued to do so until the saddle was at the same raised level retuned. I repeated once, and the same thing happened. Has anyone else found this? Have I got a bad saddle? Thanks
JRBain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-30-2007, 07:33 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725
Re: Edge Pro saddle problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRBain View Post
...and the high E to A saddles are level with each other (height)
you mean they're all the same height? that's not supposed to be like, in the EdgePro trem. saddles height must form an "arc" like following the fretboard radiusing. they even can't be all the same height as the baseplate they're sitting on is not flat, but radiused itself.



Quote:
Originally Posted by JRBain View Post
...I took an allen key to the saddle and lowered it to the level of the others.
hm!?! EdgePro saddles can't be individually set in height (except by adding shims underneath, which is not the case)! are you sure your trem is an EdgePro? post pics please.
nuno is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-30-2007, 10:46 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 21
Re: Edge Pro saddle problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuno View Post
you mean they're all the same height? that's not supposed to be like, in the EdgePro trem. saddles height must form an "arc" like following the fretboard radiusing. they even can't be all the same height as the baseplate they're sitting on is not flat, but radiused itself.






hm!?! EdgePro saddles can't be individually set in height (except by adding shims underneath, which is not the case)! are you sure your trem is an EdgePro? post pics please.
Apologies for the bad description. Here are a couple of pics that hopefully might illustrate the problem a little more.



JRBain is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-30-2007, 10:52 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 477
Re: Edge Pro saddle problem...

Does the fine tuner work? --Jason
jkahrs is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-30-2007, 11:36 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 21
Re: Edge Pro saddle problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkahrs View Post
Does the fine tuner work? --Jason
Never thought to check that. Just did, and no, it doesn't seem to at all. The tension hasn't slackened, but it has no effect.
JRBain is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-30-2007, 11:52 AM
 
SeanB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Posts: 358
Re: Edge Pro saddle problem...

This happened to me on my Edge III. All I had to do was loosen the saddle screw and move it back a bit. It looks like it just slipped forward...

Hope that helped

Regards
-Sean
SeanB is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-30-2007, 03:09 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 21
Re: Edge Pro saddle problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanB View Post
This happened to me on my Edge III. All I had to do was loosen the saddle screw and move it back a bit. It looks like it just slipped forward...

Hope that helped

Regards
-Sean
OK. Does this not affect the intonation? Thanks
JRBain is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-30-2007, 03:44 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 477
Re: Edge Pro saddle problem...

Make sure the end of the saddle where the fine tuner screw touches isn't broken. There was someone on here a while back with that very problem on a ep. --Jason
jkahrs is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-30-2007, 04:50 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 21
Re: Edge Pro saddle problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkahrs View Post
Make sure the end of the saddle where the fine tuner screw touches isn't broken. There was someone on here a while back with that very problem on a ep. --Jason
Great - thanks; I'll look into that.
JRBain is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-02-2007, 06:46 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 21
Re: Edge Pro saddle problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkahrs View Post
Make sure the end of the saddle where the fine tuner screw touches isn't broken. There was someone on here a while back with that very problem on a ep. --Jason
Thinking about this, is it fixable if it is broken? Do I need to buy a new saddle? Thanks
JRBain is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-02-2007, 11:02 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 477
Re: Edge Pro saddle problem...

It's not a fixable problem. If it's broken, you'll need a new saddle. --Jason
jkahrs is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-03-2007, 08:42 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 21
Re: Edge Pro saddle problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkahrs View Post
It's not a fixable problem. If it's broken, you'll need a new saddle. --Jason
OK - thanks dude - I bet it'll be expensive over here
JRBain is offline  
Reply

Tags
fretboard radius

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loose saddle on Edge 3 Rorschach Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 0 01-09-2006 09:25 AM
Saddle problem on Edge Pro ThomasBJ Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 11 04-12-2005 02:05 PM
Lo pro edge & Double Edge in tune problem Raffel Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 21 05-14-2004 08:59 AM
EDGE PRO PROBLEM! PLEASE HELP! Adagio_777 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 7 04-24-2004 05:25 AM
I have a screw loose! - LO Pro Edge problem. jem7vwh Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 2 03-13-2001 08:23 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome