ESP/Jackson Guy converted into an "Ibanez" guy and - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 10-09-2004, 08:29 PM Thread Starter

ESP/Jackson Guy converted into an "Ibanez" guy and

HEY guys, hi. I'm a ESP/Jackson metal shredder kind of guy. Recently, I was going into to guitar center etc... playing Ibanez's and was blown away how much better the middle of the line Ibanez RG models blew the socks off my top of the line ESP. I ended up buying at Ibanez RGT42 in black pearl. I was wondering what your opinions were on this guitar, like on terms of playability , sound, price. I traded my ESP for it. I was just wondering because i have been reading how alot of people have been dissing the LO TRS , is it that bad? I would like you opinions and appreciate them, for now since i am new to ibanez, now im saving up for a JEM! thx, neo
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 10-10-2004, 02:48 PM

The RGT42 is a step down from the Japanese line, but it's still a fine axe, IMO. A lot of people here will slag the TRS just because it's not an Edge...but if you set up a TRS properly, it will work well under most circumstances. You can't beat an Edge, IMO, but unless you go off on your trem ala Vai, you'll be OK with a TRS.

My advice to you would be to upgrade the pickups...throw a pair of DiMarzios in there and you'll have a really nice guitar.
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 10-10-2004, 03:14 PM

You traded an ESP for it??!
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 10-10-2004, 05:19 PM

Seriously dude, is you traded a top end ESP, lets say 1400 for a guitar that costs 450?!? You could have sold the ESP and bought 3 of that guitar? Why?
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 10-10-2004, 08:29 PM Thread Starter