Evo2 Pickup height in a Prestige RG1570 - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-17-2013, 07:08 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: australia
Posts: 8
Evo2 Pickup height in a Prestige RG1570

Hi guys,

Just wondering if anyone can offer some assistance.

I brought the Evo 2 bridge pickup for my prestige and it turns out my prestige is one of the 08 models that didn't have the deep enough pickup cavitys.

Anyway I installed the pickup and dont particularly like the sound. sounds a tad muddy to me. I am guessing that I have the pickups too high?. the pickup seems pretty hot.

Can anyone offer some advice. The guitar wasn't that expensive, So i am contemplating getting the pickup cavity routed out by a woodworker.

I have pics but it wont let me put them in as I dont have enough posts, which is odd.

Anyway any help would be appreciated.

Cheers
nezray is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-17-2013, 10:57 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chicago Il
Posts: 147
Re: Evo2 Pickup height in a Prestige RG1570

you can post links to pictures
FuzzUniverze is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-19-2013, 06:55 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: australia
Posts: 8
Re: Evo2 Pickup height in a Prestige RG1570

Sadly I cant post pics or even links to pics.

I need 10 posts or more. Very annoying.
nezray is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-19-2013, 11:17 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Baytown
Posts: 153
Re: Evo2 Pickup height in a Prestige RG1570

If you have a Dremel, router or drill--do the cavities yourself.
make sure to wrap tape on the bit to mark your depth if cut.
But yeah, too high and it will be muddy.
GodzillaPopcicle is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-19-2013, 02:32 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: Evo2 Pickup height in a Prestige RG1570

Quote:
Originally Posted by nezray View Post
Sadly I cant post pics or even links to pics.

I need 10 posts or more. Very annoying.
You can e-mail me the link and I'll post them for you. Either that , or get you post count up to 10 and you can post all you want....

The work needed to do this is VERY simple for any wood worker. You should be able to get it done for less than $20. That's better than spending more money on tools you may not use again.
RGTFanatic is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-19-2013, 09:23 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: Evo2 Pickup height in a Prestige RG1570

Here are Nezray's pictures:







Nez, Are the pickups screwed down as far as you can get them??

Also, do you have any more pics of the guitar? That bridge looks totally wrong for a 1570.
RGTFanatic is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-19-2013, 10:00 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: australia
Posts: 8
Re: Evo2 Pickup height in a Prestige RG1570

Hey,

Yes sadly the pup cavitys are not deep enough to accommodate the Evo2.

They are screwed down as far as they can be, flush with the wood. too High you think?.

This guitar has a floyd rose original on it not the Edge pro that most RG1570's have. thats why it looks odd.

Cheers
nezray is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-19-2013, 10:09 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Baytown
Posts: 153
Re: Evo2 Pickup height in a Prestige RG1570

Have to agree with RGTFanatic--that trem is all wrong!
Looks like one of those cheap low- end bridges.
That is not a stock 1570 trem--it should have an Edge Pro.
http://www.ibanez.co.jp/anniversary/...t_id=380&now=5

Edit--you posted the OFR comment as I was getting the link.
GodzillaPopcicle is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-20-2013, 10:53 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,198
Reviews: 120
Re: Evo2 Pickup height in a Prestige RG1570

The pickup is definitely too high. You'll need to deepen the cavity a bit. Use a dremel with a sanding wheel to take it down a bit and you should be ok.
LonePhantom is offline  
Reply

Tags
rg1570l

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ft ibanez rg1570 mrr with evo2 LoverDave Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 03-28-2013 03:52 AM
Crunch Lab height on RG1570 metalter Pickups & wiring 2 07-07-2012 03:05 AM
evo2 in an rg1570(?) ljsilver Pickups & wiring 3 08-16-2010 02:19 AM
RG1570 Pickup Height zepsongs Pickups & wiring 2 08-30-2008 03:50 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome