First acoustic: Ovation? Something else? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-25-2008, 10:38 PM Thread Starter

First acoustic: Ovation? Something else?

I've been playing Ibanez electrics for 5 years now, but I'm looking to get my first acoustic guitar. I've always loved the Ovation sound (and look!), but I played one a few months ago and found the neck very...strange. Especially coming from my 7 string Ibanez, the neck felt tiny (thin). I like having a fat, full neck, and the Ovation just seemed to be lacking that. Also, the neck seemed very plasticy, like an SG neck (something I really hate). I like the natural feel of my RG1527 much better. Was it just the one I played, or are all Ovations like that? If so, what other brands should I consider that have a fatter, more natural neck?

My price range is around $500-$600, so I guess I'd be looking at an Ovation Celebrity Deluxe.

Last edited by lonewolf121188; 05-25-2008 at 10:46 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-26-2008, 12:15 AM

Re: First acoustic: Ovation? Something else?

in that price range I like Seagulls, or maybe you can find a used Martin 15 series.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-26-2008, 12:47 AM

I'm not a fan of Ovation acoustics. They sound only about halfway decent plugged in, and that's a stretch. Unplugged, they sound like absolute garbage.

Depending on how much you want to spend, you could probably get a used Martin, as Elcid mentioned, or I personally like Takamines.