First time with ZR Bridge & Problems, HELP! - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-30-2008, 03:35 AM Thread Starter

First time with ZR Bridge & Problems, HELP!

Hey Everyone,

I am new to the board and I am new to Ibanez. Yah!! I picked up an s320 at my local music shop and I loved the way it played. I have it home now for the 2nd night and I am starting to get curious with the thing. I still have the stop rod installed inside the bridge cavity, so I am not fully floating. I am however, having problems staying in tune.

I have read on various forums that the ZR bridge was great for doing dive bombs, etc. and coming back into tune. I did not touch anything on the guitar other than the string tension dial on the back of the guitar. I started playing with it to see what it did. I did however return it to its 'factory' position which is touching against the Stop Rod, which is what the manual tells me to do.

I am however finding it very hard to keep in tune. After playing a song, I am always having to re adjust the fine tuners on the bridge to get it back to 'perfect'. As well, doing some Satriani type bombs is causing the whole guitar to go way out of tune, like half a step or more sharp.

I was expecting that this guitar was going to stay in way better tune than it does. I have read online that many people tune it once and they are good to go, able to do dive bombs, big bends, etc. and not have the axe go out at all. I really need to figure out what is going wrong here because this guitar is smoking and I want to get the best out of it.

Please help!!

Thanks in advance,
David
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-30-2008, 09:23 AM

Re: First time with ZR Bridge & Problems, HELP!

First, the basics:

1 - Check your strings are stretched.