floyd rose bridge question (simple) - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-25-2008, 02:42 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 1,056
floyd rose bridge question (simple)

i just got my rg2550z today and it's great. my first double locking guitar. i just broke my D string. at the bridge where it's locked in, the end of it is kinda squashed and i'm guessing it was either locked in too tight or i've been pulling up on it too much?

how much can you pull up a trem before a string snaps generally? whats the deal with that sort of thing?
Homebake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-25-2008, 11:38 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: racine, WI
Posts: 1,499
Reviews: 7
Re: floyd rose bridge question (simple)

You should be able to do full pull-ups. It was probably just the string, and they shouldn't be squashed.

The thickers strings should just start to get two flat surfaces from the locking, but definately not squashed. You'll end up breaking a lot of strings that way and more importantly you could strip something on the bridge, whether it be the saddle or the actual screw, I don't know. I'm sure you, just like me don't want to find out
brothersnowgone is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-25-2008, 04:11 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cali
Posts: 357
Re: floyd rose bridge question (simple)

well when you lock a string in, you are "squishing" it against the saddle, with the string block. anytime you lock a wound string in a double locking tremolo it gets squished. im sure you just broke a string I wouldn't worry about it. Don't pull-up as far as you can, you're just asking to break a string then. You can fake how high you pull-up by starting with the bridge dived a little and then pull up past that, or you can just start on a higher note with a dive too.
Foulacy is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-27-2008, 09:06 AM
GAZ
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 447
Re: floyd rose bridge question (simple)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homebake View Post
i just got my rg2550z today and it's great. my first double locking guitar. i just broke my D string. at the bridge where it's locked in, the end of it is kinda squashed and i'm guessing it was either locked in too tight or i've been pulling up on it too much?

how much can you pull up a trem before a string snaps generally? whats the deal with that sort of thing?
If the squashed bit is still on the end of the string did it break or maybe it wasn't locked tight enough and just pulled through ? If so, undo the locking nut, unwind the string a bit, feed it back in the trem, lock and voila !! I have snapped the top E by tightening the locking bridge too tight, but you'd have to go some to do it to the D string.
GAZ is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-27-2008, 10:01 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix,Arizona
Posts: 1,056
Re: floyd rose bridge question (simple)

It's probably just locked too tight (the string), I pull all the way up till my trem hits wood, never breaks. I have never broken a string pulling up, and pulling up on a trem is how I use a trem most of the time. I have Jems & RG's. Yeah the string gets a little squished (maybe) but not that much. Like I said my guess is the string was just clamped in to tightly. You should be able to pull as far as your trem will let you and no breaking. I do it all the time. Either just to tight or just one of those things. Strings break, it's part of life being a guitarist. Sometimes even the strings can be a bad batch (not usually). If you're having a lot of strings breaking constantly you may have a problem, but that could be a number of things , but no matter what you should be able to pull up on a trem all you want with no breakage or loss in tune as long as it's set up right. Don't let anyone tell you not to pull up so far, they do not know what they're talking about (all due respect).
GTR-MAN is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-28-2008, 04:40 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 1,056
Re: floyd rose bridge question (simple)

thanks for the replies.

also, kinda unrelated but, at the trem arm snap in point, there's the torque adjustment screw.

i don't really understand what it does since the arm feels exactly the same weather it's completely screwed in or loose. but anyway, underneath that is a little plastic washer kind of thing. i'm not sure what it's purpose is because the trem functions exactly as it does usually with or without the plastic thing. it keep's falling out if i take the torque adjustment screw off and i was wondering if it's necessary? i'm guessing it serves some purpose...
Homebake is offline  
Reply

Tags
rg2550z edge zero

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
first to use floyd rose style bridge? postofficebuddy Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 16 12-17-2007 11:12 AM
strings breaking near floyd rose bridge? bjamin86 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 03-20-2007 12:25 AM
Tuning a floyd rose bridge... guitar_legend Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 02-07-2007 08:08 PM
Floyd rose sized fixed bridge? Mr.WizardNeck Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 6 04-22-2006 07:59 AM
Replacing bridge with a Floyd Rose dex_ibanez Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 11-11-2004 10:07 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome