Floyd Rose specifications - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-06-2008, 01:42 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: chicago
Posts: 5
Floyd Rose specifications

hey guys I have a RG5EX1(if you couldnt guess lol) and I plan on replacing my edge III tremolo with a Original Floyd, I was wondering if any of you knew the exact specification of the nut width. Also if you guys have any suggestions on what good products to use to clean a satin finish I would really appreciate that. Thanks alot for your info here's the website im going to order the tremolo from.

http://www.beyondeleven.com/ProductD...ginal-frt100-c

If you know any sites that have a floyd ORIGINAL for cheaper please send me a link
RG5EX1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-06-2008, 06:22 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: chicago
Posts: 5
Re: Floyd Rose specifications

Anyone? just the nut spec. is all I need
RG5EX1 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-07-2008, 05:56 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: East Coast USA
Posts: 167
Re: Floyd Rose specifications

Quote:
Originally Posted by RG5EX1 View Post
hey guys I have a RG5EX1(if you couldnt guess lol) and I plan on replacing my edge III tremolo with a Original Floyd, I was wondering if any of you knew the exact specification of the nut width. Also if you guys have any suggestions on what good products to use to clean a satin finish I would really appreciate that. Thanks alot for your info here's the website im going to order the tremolo from.

http://www.beyondeleven.com/ProductD...ginal-frt100-c

If you know any sites that have a floyd ORIGINAL for cheaper please send me a link

That's the cheapest I seen for a complete OFR trem, got me thinkin' and that's never a good thing
TKO Ken is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-07-2008, 09:08 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: chicago
Posts: 5
Re: Floyd Rose specifications

Im pretty sure it's legitimate but thats all right now all I need is the nut Spec it's a wizard II neck if that helps and a house hold cleaner that can clean the satin finish without doing hard to the guitar and im all set
RG5EX1 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-07-2008, 09:21 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,391
Re: Floyd Rose specifications

My rg320 was a r43.
callen3615 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2008, 05:53 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 28
Re: Floyd Rose specifications

Quote:
Originally Posted by TKO Ken View Post
That's the cheapest I seen for a complete OFR trem, got me thinkin' and that's never a good thing
I thought every place sells them at that price. Warmoth and GuitarPartsDepot do.
ketiov is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-08-2008, 06:27 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,641
Re: Floyd Rose specifications

If you mean that you want to use an OFR nut with your new OFR, bear in mind that neither the bridge nor the new nut will match the radius of the fretboard. You'll need to shim the saddles to get the bridge to match, and you'll probably be best off keeping the stock nut to get it to match up there.

If you're insistent on changing the nut, I know Rich is backordered at the moment, you might have some trouble getting hold of an ibanez locking nut. If you end up using the floyd one, then you'll have to alter the depth of the nut slots somehow, and thats a hell of a project.
GuitarBizarre is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-09-2008, 04:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: chicago
Posts: 5
Re: Floyd Rose specifications

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuitarBizarre View Post
If you mean that you want to use an OFR nut with your new OFR, bear in mind that neither the bridge nor the new nut will match the radius of the fretboard. You'll need to shim the saddles to get the bridge to match, and you'll probably be best off keeping the stock nut to get it to match up there.

If you're insistent on changing the nut, I know Rich is backordered at the moment, you might have some trouble getting hold of an ibanez locking nut. If you end up using the floyd one, then you'll have to alter the depth of the nut slots somehow, and thats a hell of a project.
Thanks alot for your input that certainly helps clear up my decision quite a bit im still going to go ahead and replace the bridge and keep the stock locking nut. Thanks agian for your input.
RG5EX1 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-15-2008, 05:37 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Portland
Posts: 473
Re: Floyd Rose specifications

Here's a link to the exact measurements from an OFR. http://www.warmoth.com/hardware/brid...floyd_original

They also have one for the Schaller branded variant.

I don't know if either will interchange with an Edge III without any modifications.
Doink is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-15-2008, 05:59 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Italia
Posts: 4,725
Re: Floyd Rose specifications

there's no reason to replace the nut. anyway, it's an R3: 42.85mm wide, 12" radius.
nuno is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Schaller Floyd or Floyd Rose II slask1 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 09-09-2007 05:32 AM
FS: Original Floyd Rose & Floyd Rose 2 -zct- Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 6 09-02-2005 03:07 PM
Original Floyd Rose or Floyd Rose Pro? Fatal-Tragedy Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 08-03-2004 09:56 PM
floyd rose on a RG 470? VOLTAGE All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 9 12-09-2003 02:10 AM
Floyd Rose Cavity: Lo Pro Edge same as Original Floyd rose - Captain Ron Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 09-06-2001 12:06 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome