Floyd Rose users- educate me. Rite Now Floyds make me freak- Change my viewpoint - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-29-2008, 11:24 PM Thread Starter

Floyd Rose users- educate me. Rite Now Floyds make me freak- Change my viewpoint

NOTE I AM A NOVICE GUITAR PLAYER AND AM JUST SEEKING INFORMATION FROM MORE SEASONED PLAYERS SO I CAN UNDERSTAND THE BENEFITS OF A FLOYD ROSE. ARE THERE ANY? THANK YOU.

BASED ON MY NOVICE LEVEL HERE ARE MY THOUGHTS: Coming from a newbie- I know some of you guys swear by them but I donít get why. With Wilkinsons out there and regular and vintage Fender trems, why do you guys like them? Is a Floyd Rose really necessary? Please educate me. Other than being able to ďflutterĒ I donít get why people use them when they can't just use a regular tremolo.

I have a few friends who are amazing metal guitar players and one of them plays a Fat Strat with a regular Fender tremolo and the other plays a Fender Eric Johnson signature Strat equipped with a vintage Fender tremolo. Both of these guitars donít have Floyds and those two friends of mine shriek and dive bomb and do crazy whammy bar effects just like the best of them. Their guitars stay in tune or they retune them a tad maybe at a break- like we break once every hour and a half or so. Itís no big deal-