Fret Buzz - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-09-2013, 02:16 PM Thread Starter

Fret Buzz

So, i'm sure there are many posts about this, but i'm having trouble finding the answer to this question so here it goes.

I have a Washburn WI-45, (similar to a Les Paul) and I can't seem to get rid of the fret buzz. I've tried adjusting the truss rod (granted I have little knowledge as to how to use it effectively) to give it more of a bow, because after doing that "finger on 1st and last fret, check the 12th fret" test seemed to yield too little clearance. So i've adjusted it to give it more clearance at the 12th fret, which improves the buzz from the 1st fret to about the 10th, but now makes the buzz from the 10th to the 22nd absolutely horrendous.

The guitar is currently in drop c with 52-11's which seems like a decent enough tension. I like my action quite low but honestly it's not even as low as I would like it and raising it any reasonable amount doesn't seem to help.

I'd like to make whatever adjustments it needs on my own because I really don't want to spend 50 bucks for a tune up. And plus i'm a diy kind of guy, don't like people touching my instruments.

Any suggestions or other things I should try to fix this problem? or do I really need to just have it looked at by a professional?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 07:41 PM

Reviews: 11
Re: Fret Buzz

Never adjust the truss if you don't know what your doing...have it looked at especially since you self adjusted it
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-10-2013, 10:07 PM

raise your bridge lol
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-11-2013, 01:30 AM

Reviews: 15