Fun Project: Restoring 92 MIK Squier HSS Stratocaster (Warning: Big Pics) - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-02-2008, 09:28 PM Thread Starter

Fun Project: Restoring 92 MIK Squier HSS Stratocaster (Warning: Big Pics)

Firstly, yea, I know it's a Squier and those of you with higher end guitars may cast a dubious eye on this project, but hey - it's for a friend and it's for fun. Like many of you, I'm a guitar mechanic that loves working on them as much as playing them.

Specs:
1992 Squier Strat. Made in Korea. Sperzel locking tuners. Yamaha humbucker in the bridge (don't know what model #, at least not yet). Pickguard looks artificially routed for it, but I'm not certain since I've never owned a HSS Strat. Otherwise, it's completely stock. 21 Frets, one piece maple neck and board, and it looks to be a plywood body at first glance but I'll know for sure later.

My friend usually plays acoustic but I'm trying to get him to play his electric more and jam out

Before Pictures:
Body front and back. At this point all I've done is replace the trem springs with new ones and aligned them diagonally for better tuning stability. Yes, all of the stickers will be taken off

Last edited by kspeed; 03-02-2008 at 11:36 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-02-2008, 09:33 PM

Re: Fun Project: Restoring 92 MIK Squier HSS Stratocaster (Warning: Big Pics)

y did u pull that out of the dumpster
it belongs in a high school bonfire
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-02-2008, 09:33 PM Thread Starter

Here's the neck and headstock, front and back. Pretty safe bet the frets have never been dressed or leveled and the fingerboard has never been cleaned. From its grain and heft it actually feels like a quality piece of tree, though.