Is this a good deal for a used Les Paul? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-2007, 02:15 PM Thread Starter

Is this a good deal for a used Les Paul?

There's a guy advertising the following:

1994 Gibson Les Paul - Black Gold Hardware + Case

Quote:
$900 plus shipping. 95%+ condition. GREAT shape, plays great! has brand new Gibson factory hardshell case, gold hardware, rare ebony fingerboard, beautiful white trapazoid fret inlays. Early 90's Les Pauls are coveted! Hate to sell!

I'm new to this, but someday want a Les Paul. What questions should I be asking? Like, "Are the frets new or worn?" Or, "Is this an American made Les Paul?"

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-2007, 02:30 PM

Re: Is this a good deal for a used Les Paul?

You should just be asking the usual questions in regards to a secondhand guitar. Nothing specific in relation to Gibson tbh. You could ask if the headstock is in good condition, as they have a tendency to snap at the headstock often. You could ask for an exact model name/number, and maybe even a serial no. so that you can check it.

If it checks out though, for $900 its a good price.
For that price, if you dont like it, someone else probably will when you sell it on.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-2007, 02:39 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by the.godfather View Post
You could ask if the headstock is in good condition, as they have a tendency to snap at the headstock often.
What's a "headstock" and is it obvious it's weakened before it snaps?

Quote:
You could ask for an exact model name/number, and maybe even a serial no. so that you can check it.
Check it with whom?

thanx.
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-03-2007, 02:44 PM

Thats a Gibson Headstock.