Graphtech string saver saddles - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-16-2007, 01:31 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 955
Graphtech string saver saddles

Anyone had any experience with them?

I was thinking of getting some for my RG321 but need to know which ones to get, I'm thinking the PRS ones are the nearest in measurement?
NeglectedField is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-16-2007, 01:47 PM
Moderator
 
Ayrton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 4,208
Re: Graphtech string saver saddles

Why do you think you need them? I use stainless steel saddles in that style bridge, and have never broke a string.
Ayrton is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-16-2007, 02:11 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 120
Re: Graphtech string saver saddles

Not prs, you want to get the import strat ones.
p4t4h is offline  
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-16-2007, 02:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,923
Re: Graphtech string saver saddles

the PRS ones are just the standard ones with a shorter screw. You don't want those for a RG321. If you're going to get new saddles for an RG321, why not get a set of the graphtech gohst saddles and get some piezo action going?
buddroyce is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-16-2007, 03:35 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 955
Re: Graphtech string saver saddles

Quote:
Originally Posted by buddroyce View Post
the PRS ones are just the standard ones with a shorter screw. You don't want those for a RG321. If you're going to get new saddles for an RG321, why not get a set of the graphtech gohst saddles and get some piezo action going?
I'd love to do that, I've always wanted a piezo bridge but I don't think I'll need one in the near future, not to mention the cost having one installed or the mess of it I'd make doing it myself. Perhaps when I get a custom guitar made
NeglectedField is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-16-2007, 05:24 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Re: Graphtech string saver saddles

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeglectedField View Post
I'd love to do that, I've always wanted a piezo bridge but I don't think I'll need one in the near future, not to mention the cost having one installed or the mess of it I'd make doing it myself. Perhaps when I get a custom guitar made
Im not a dealer, but I do carry graphtech saddles. I pay full price for them and NEVER had a prob with them.
I put them on my workhorse.... an 88 Yamaha rgz112P with the ****ty fender knockoff trem. This was 3 years ago and I havnt broke a string on it since. I change strings every 2 months no matter what.... but the Yamaha designed saddles were junk. I broke 2 strings a week on em (low E and G mostly at the saddle).

You may cringe at my "baby" being a cheapie......... but its a fukkin tank. Its held together through shows that Ive hit stage chargers with and my drunk ass falling over on it. No neck cracks.... but it is on its 3rd paint job haha.
Tungus is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-16-2007, 09:57 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 151
Reviews: 14
Re: Graphtech string saver saddles

I got graphtech saddles for my Les Paul way back to replace the crap saddles that kept breaking my strings. To this day (years later) I have yet to break a string on that guitar.

I just wish they made more variations.
Johnny Two Tone is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-18-2007, 12:29 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 955
Re: Graphtech string saver saddles

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tungus View Post
Im not a dealer, but I do carry graphtech saddles. I pay full price for them and NEVER had a prob with them.
I put them on my workhorse.... an 88 Yamaha rgz112P with the ****ty fender knockoff trem. This was 3 years ago and I havnt broke a string on it since. I change strings every 2 months no matter what.... but the Yamaha designed saddles were junk. I broke 2 strings a week on em (low E and G mostly at the saddle).

You may cringe at my "baby" being a cheapie......... but its a fukkin tank. Its held together through shows that Ive hit stage chargers with and my drunk ass falling over on it. No neck cracks.... but it is on its 3rd paint job haha.
Oh I'm cool with it, nothing wrong with a cheap workhorse guitar. Much like how I view my RG321, though it feels so much better and more solid than guitars in it's price range. Bear in mind mine's a Korean one though.
NeglectedField is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-18-2007, 12:59 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 113
Re: Graphtech string saver saddles

I put the graphtechs on my strat and it sounded different. Less twang to my ears. Just my opinion. I took them right off. I put them on to help the strings slide around and not hang up. To help with tuning on bends and whammy action. I don't remember if it helped that much as I was so distressed about the tone change.
Brando Clean is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-18-2007, 05:18 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 151
Reviews: 14
Re: Graphtech string saver saddles

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brando Clean View Post
I put the graphtechs on my strat and it sounded different. Less twang to my ears. Just my opinion. I took them right off. I put them on to help the strings slide around and not hang up. To help with tuning on bends and whammy action. I don't remember if it helped that much as I was so distressed about the tone change.
Yeah, I'm pretty sure Graphtech advertises that the saddles will make for a slight tonal change - a little warmer, or something - but I didn't really notice any change on my LP.
Johnny Two Tone is offline  
Reply

Tags
custom guitar , les paul , piezo bridge

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your string guages are wrong! Dino Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 238 05-05-2008 06:34 PM
rg1527 seven string question Jebus All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 9 02-10-2005 05:38 AM
String breakage with piezo saddles... Pesso Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 10 05-04-2004 10:44 AM
RG7621 replacement String Saver saddles Drache713 Gear, Equipment, Recording & Off Topic 6 01-06-2003 03:09 PM
graphtech 7 string piezo hardtail saddles now available. - F Getthis Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 0 10-31-2001 11:46 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome