GRX20 or GRX20DX? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-22-2011, 09:00 AM Thread Starter

Good Beginner Guitar?

Hey all, new user and a newbie to guitar. I'm currently looking to pick either the GRX20 or the GRX20DX up today at my local GC.

I've seen videos on YT of people playing each and heard it's a good beginner guitar, but I can't seem to find the difference between the DX and non-DX. They're the same price at GC ($179.99) and I guess the only difference I see are the dot inlays opposed to the "teeth" inlays.

Any insight about the differences or the guitars in general would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Last edited by Alpha Axl; 11-22-2011 at 02:08 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-22-2011, 12:12 PM

Re: GRX20 or GRX20DX?

I'm a newbie too, but have been working at it for 1 1/2 yrs now. The best advice I got was that buying a guitar is like buying shoes. You have to try them on until you find one that you like and it fits.

Price and brand don't count as much as how it feels and sounds to you. Go to GC and play with everything until you find the one you like (and can afford). Last time I did this, I surprised myself at what I ended up liking - not at all what I would have guessed going in.

Your choice of amp will affect the outcome a lot too. GC's 30 day return or swap policy is a great way to try before you're committed to a final choice.

Good luck, have fun.
Gary
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-22-2011, 01:57 PM

In any ibanez Guitar the DX suffix just means it's a Deluxe version, i.e. RG550 and RG500dx. Really the only difference in them are going to be the Sharktooth verses the dot. As a side note I'd save up a little and buy you a better guitar off of Craigslist or ebay etc. just my .02