Guitar w/Bass body? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-30-2008, 01:44 PM Thread Starter

Guitar w/Bass body?

I'm really into the look of the Ibanez BTB bass series, but I'm a guitarist. Would it be possible to just swap over a bridge, pups, and tuners to the bass, or would a full neck swap be in order? Would a guitar neck even fit? Am I insane for thinking about this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-30-2008, 01:49 PM

Re: Guitar w/Bass body?

It is possible in theory. There are some limitations, however:

* The neck will probably not fit in the neck pocket of the body
* You need a top-mounted bridge - trem units will not work. The bridge might be smaller than the bass bridge - in that case, it will not look nice.
* The pickup cavaties need to be expanded/filled. Will not look nice.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-30-2008, 01:56 PM Thread Starter

I figured it wasn't going to look that pretty, but the "banana" horns on the BTB are just too appealing to me.

..Or maybe I should just learn to play bass.
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-30-2008, 02:11 PM

You would also need to relocate the hardware as the scale lengths are different. This really would not work on numerous levels. Your best bet would be to have a body custom made for a six string config but bass body style and size.
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-30-2008, 02:27 PM Thread Starter

I wish I could afford that. Unfortunately, I am a college student as of now, and therefore my budget is slim to none. I suppose I'm going to have to figure out some way to mangle them together.

Oh, a note: this is't a question exclusively for the BTB, but for bass body swapping in general. Has anyone heard of a successful transfer?
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-30-2008, 03:07 PM

Reviews: 4