Having a bad Ibanez experience - help! - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-27-2001, 11:55 PM Thread Starter

Having a bad Ibanez experience - help!

Hey guys...please allow me to vent. *First let me say that I'm a big Ibanez fan, but I'm encountering a situation here that has me frustrated. *Here's the deal:

1) Back in Sept 2000 I buy a really nice red quilt RG3220 (like a 3120...special run) from a GC in Dallas. *Got it at a great price.

2) Get it home and tweak with the setup, but I find that the whammy is not staying in tune. *More tweaking...a little better. *Problem is that after a dive, it stays just a few cents flat...enough to be unacceptable...especially for an Edge trem.

I'm no pro tech, but I've had 4 other Ibanezes with Edge or Lo-Pro trems, and have always been able to get them working fine. *I've heard this described as the "mysterious whammy" problem around here several months ago...appears that I have it too.

3) Lay it aside and play my other guitars. *Finally take it back to GC at the end of January. *They send it out their local Ibanez service guy "Brent, " who after working on it, and speaking with Hoshino on the phone, can't get it right either. *So I know I'm not imagining the problem.

He tells me he's sent it back to GC, who of course did not call me and insisted that it was not there.

4) Finally CG admits they have it and agrees on Brent's recommendation that they'll send it to Hoshino. *No call from CG after over a month, so I stop by ther tonight and pick it up.