Help with Ibanez ZR2 bridge tuning problem - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-15-2010, 01:26 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
Help with Ibanez ZR2 bridge tuning problem

I bought an Ibanez S5470 Prestige a few months ago. It was strung with .09s, but I play in D standard so I put on some .10s. I have not been able to get the bridge to stay in tune perfectly since. It stayed in tune really well before I restrung it.

It is doing some really strange stuff, if I push the whammy bar down a fair distance, when it returns to its neutral position, it is really out of tune. However after doing this, if I pull the whammy bar up and hold it for a seconds, when it returns to the neutral position, it is in tune again. If i upbend it without doing a divebomb, it stays in tune too.

I have the spring tension adjusted so the bridge is parallel to the body, and I have tried removing the ZPS system. The strings are tightly locked at the locking nuts, and the things that hold the strings in place on the bridge.

Does anyone know what the problem might be? Thanks for any help!

Last edited by Arycama; 09-15-2010 at 01:33 PM.
Arycama is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-15-2010, 02:59 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hants/Berks UK
Posts: 465
Reviews: 9
Re: Help with Ibanez ZR2 bridge tuning problem

I assume you adjusted the spring tension? How did you do that, did you use the roller that sticks out the cavity cover?
Fun111 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-16-2010, 01:18 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
Re: Help with Ibanez ZR2 bridge tuning problem

Yeah I adjusted it using the roller. The baseplate of the bridge is sitting parallel with the body.
Arycama is offline  
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-16-2010, 04:28 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,205
Reviews: 12
Re: Help with Ibanez ZR2 bridge tuning problem

did you intonate the bridge when you changed strings?

Reg
reguv760 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-16-2010, 04:39 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
Re: Help with Ibanez ZR2 bridge tuning problem

Yeah I did.
Arycama is offline  
Reply

Tags
bridge , floating , tuning , zr2

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ibanez AEG10EBK tuning problem mdmoyer Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 0 03-27-2009 08:38 PM
Tuning Problem geetarmonkey Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 12-28-2006 04:08 PM
Ibanez Rg350ex Tuning Problem Plz help iIbaneZz All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 9 01-17-2006 09:55 PM
tuning problem :( mikul Ibanez JEM, UV, JS & Other Signature Models 1 04-08-2005 08:28 AM
Help.. Tuning problem JBA.com Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 10 12-09-2002 05:27 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome