Help me identify my new road flare red RG? Possibly a 550? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-19-2009, 02:02 PM Thread Starter

Help me identify my new road flare red RG? Possibly a 550?

Hey everybody - I just picked up a new RG off of the local craigslist, and I was wondering if anybody could help me identify it. It looks like an RG550 to me, but the seller swore up and down that it was a special edition 570 or something. Also, as I'm new to the whole Floyd Rose thing, I'm not entirely sure what kind of trem I'm sporting; if anybody could help me out with that as well, I'd appreciate it.

The serial number on the back of the neck, if it'll help, is F323499.

As far as the guitar, it seems really nice. Really dirty, really road worn, really old strings, but still really nice. Got it cheap, too.

Last edited by poolshark; 10-31-2009 at 11:31 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-19-2009, 02:09 PM

Re: Help me identify my new road flare red RG? Possibly a 550?

It is a 93 rg550 with an Ibanez lo-pro edge trem.that doesnt look road flare red unless its really faded or the color is way off in the pics.also you need to get the knife edges laying parallel on the trem so the trem is set up right. Nice axe btw
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-19-2009, 02:12 PM

Reviews: 12

... definitely a 550CA, Candy Apple with Lo-Pro Edge (bridge angle is way too high, needs adjustment to springs after new strings).
For $220, that's definitely well-worth the price and then some!
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-19-2009, 02:29 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by reguv760 View Post
... definitely a 550CA, Candy Apple with Lo-Pro Edge (bridge angle is way too high, needs adjustment to springs after new strings).