Help with new guitar or new pickups - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-17-2017, 07:46 PM Thread Starter

Help with new guitar or new pickups

Hello everyone!
First post so hopefully I'm following the etiquette here. I know there are a million what pickups/guitar should I get posts, but I think this one will hopefully help answer some questions that I have that while still subjective, may have more decisive answers/opinions.
I'm the proud owner of a S1220 Prestige I bought years ago. For whatever reason, mainly frustration, I quit messing with guitar for a long time. I'm self taught and really got boxed in with what I had learned and couldn't figure out how to break out of my tendencies. Fast forward to now and there's a million different free guitar lessons online and since I've picked it back up I've really enjoyed it.
I like late 80's and early 90's metal like Pantera and Sepultura, but like any guitar player, I play blues as well. If anyone has some recommendations on some current metal bands that would be cool as well as I haven't came across any that stand out since I've started back playing.
So here's my predicament. Since owning the S1220, I've never really bonded with it for a couple of reasons. One is I can't seem to get a metal tone out of it that I like. I feel like a pickup swap could solve this part. It still has the quantum's in it now, but they sound so muddy to me. I think I want a pickup with a really tight bottom end, but I don't know what I lose to gain that. I know there's always a trade off.
What pickups for a tight punchy bottom end?