How to decrease natural tone settings on PGM guitars? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-14-2011, 10:55 AM Thread Starter

How to decrease natural tone settings on PGM guitars?

Hello everyone,

So I am a more classically trained guitarist who took a forray into electric guitars a few years ago, but I am still weak on the tech side of things. As you all may or may not know, the PGM series lacks a tone knob. My question is, is there anything that I could do to soften up the tone? Thank you.

Also, is this the correct thread, or should I put this in the Tech section?

Sincerely,

Jon

Last edited by bobombom; 05-14-2011 at 11:11 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-14-2011, 12:49 PM

Re: How to decrease natural tone settings on PGM guitars?

Greetings.

A couple of thoughts off the cuff here:

If there's a treble-bleed cap on the volume knob in the stock wiring, you could remove that. The result is that, when lowering the volume, even very slightly, there's a disproportionately larger drop in audible higher frequencies (the very thing the bleed cap is meant to prevent, of course).
That way, a very slight 'crack' in your volume setting will yield a 'mellower' sound right off the bat.

Another possibility, a bit more advanced; you could replace the volume with a stacked concentric pot, wherein one part is wired as the volume, and the other, a tone control. No new holes in the guitar, and a fully reversible modification.

Let me know if either of those fits the bill.
Cheers.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-14-2011, 01:06 PM
Banned

Reviews: 98

Your best solution in the EQ on your amp. If you can't dial in what you're looking for there, the next step is adding an EQ pedal to the chain.

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-14-2011, 01:58 PM