How to get RG2077XL stay in tune ? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 12-19-2003, 04:04 PM Thread Starter

How to get RG2077XL stay in tune ?

I bought RG2077XL some months ago, if you don't know it's the follow-up for 1077XL, 27" scale and so on.
For some strange reason it won't stay in tune no matter what i do. It's strung with .009 - .54 and tuned to BEADGBE. It's a real nice guitar, but the tuning thing ruins it. Is there some special trick for that particular guitar? Are others having problems with 2077?
I tried to block the trem, but there was no place for a battery or other common blocking thing in tremolo cavity.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 12-19-2003, 05:24 PM

I'm not good with setup, but go to www.ibanezrules.com and follow the instructions in the tech section, it should help. If you don't use the trem and want ultimate stability, you can simply try to sand a block of wood to fit into the cavity. It takes work, but If you're set on blocking the bridge, this is the best way to do it...
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 12-19-2003, 06:44 PM Thread Starter

I've setupped it many times with many different instructions including ibanezrules and it always goes out of tune eventually. Is there any kind of "tremolo stabilizer" that would fit into 2077? I quess Steve Vai uses some kind of tremolo stabilizer by Ibanez
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 12-21-2003, 04:58 PM
Ice

strings