How to know if my acoustic guitar has flat fingerboard or radiused fingerboard - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-01-2020, 06:29 AM Thread Starter

How to know if my acoustic guitar has flat fingerboard or radiused fingerboard

I have a Yamaha FS100C acoustic guitar.

In website it says Fingerboard Radius: R400mm (15 3/4") what does it mean I can't understand as I am a beginner.

I want to get a capo for it, so i want to know if it has a flat fretboard/fingerboard or radiused fretboard/fingerboard.

I bought Daddario NS Artist Capo but D string buzzes a lot even if capo tension is increased somewhat (standard tunning).

To check capo pressure i am picking strings downwards just exactly as how we do when tuning a guitar and D string buzzes a lot.

I don't want to keep high tension on the strings by tightening the capo a lot as it would defeat the purpose of getting an somewhat expensive capo with screw adjustment for tension too.

I am using Gibson light 11 - 52 gauge strings on the guitar after i tried to make the capo work with a little tension adjustment in the screw had no luck, and strings got out of tune after some trials.

I have been looking in between NS Artist Capo & Tri-Action Capo from Daddario.

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-01-2020, 09:31 AM

The easiest way to understand what a radius is, is by picturing what the information is telling you. Think of it like this, picture a 10 inch circle, and a 15 inch circle. The 10 is smaller therefore the curve will be sharper because it's a shorter distance to complete the circle. Where the 15 inch is much larger so the curve is less sharp. So the larger the number the flatter the radius. So your fingerboard is fairly flat.