How/Where can I get a Custom made Ibanez RG ?? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-14-2017, 07:33 PM Thread Starter

How/Where can I get a Custom made Ibanez RG ??

I've been playing Ibanez for 8 years now and still love my RG350 after putting a DiMarzio Super Distortion and Air Norton in it.
Last year I bought a black 1997 RG 550 and had all the hardware replaced with gold/brass (video on my YouTube "Guitarist6494")

Anyway, I've never been a fan of the basswood Ibanez uses.
It's always intrigued me making a custom RG with all mahogany body, neck through, 2 Humbuckers (no middle single coil) with DiMarzio Super Distortion, Floyd Rose Original (if possible), and a thicker neck as appose to the traditional thin Ibanez necks.

I know this may fit under the category of the RGT but I want a thicker neck.

If anyone knows how/where you can get a custom made Ibanez, any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
-Alex

(NEW MEMBER - Sorry if this is in the wrong thread/section)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-15-2017, 08:42 AM

Re: How/Where can I get a Custom made Ibanez RG ??

Not neck through, but if you can find an RGR580, you'll get most of what you want. Mahogany body, HSH, Bolt on neck with the AANJ. There aren't a whole lot of them out there as they were a Japanese domestic model from 97-02, but if you can find one from 00-02, you'll get the MIJ wizard II neck, and that is thicker than a standard wizard neck, even from that period.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-15-2017, 08:43 AM

Also, why would you even bother with an OFR when you can get an Edge or Lo pro, which are vastly superior designs?
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-15-2017, 09:53 AM Thread Starter

Thanks, I?ve never even heard of that model untill now.