I want to try something other than Ibanez. Suhr Rammus? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 02-07-2013, 10:40 AM Thread Starter

I want to try something other than Ibanez. Suhr Rammus?

I've been playing Ibanez for 7 years now and my last Ibanez purchase was disappointing. I've come to realize that out of the box Ibanez guitars are not ready to play. I'm not just talking about action, but also the fret work and inconsistent fretboard radii matching that hampers the ability to achieve a decently low action without any major buzzing or dead spots on the neck. I know how to do all the tech work to fix this stuff, but over the years I've found that I spend way more time tinkering with Ibanez guitars than playing with them. Plus the fact that only their highest range of guitars and most expensive comes with real Dimarzio pickups is so silly now. I don't like that I have to buy the guitar AND buy new pickups and install them in. Again, I want to focus more on playing than setting up. (Yes I do understand that all guitars need some setting up every now and then).

So I'm interested in trying something new. I can list some of the things that I am looking for in the new guitar.

-24 frets
-Professional fret work
-Thinner neck
-At least some type of decent setup where only minor modifications are necessary.
-Comes stock with USA made pickups (dimarzio, duncan)
-Floyd or standard bridge I don't care because I know how to deal with either.
-Ability to sound good playing with heavy distortion (metal)
-Under $1300.

Also I live in the Middle East and can only order from http://www.thomann.de/intl/index.html because the shipping price with them is fair compared to the atrocious amounts I would have to pay if I ordered from the US.