Ibanez rg 3120 - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-11-2005, 12:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Ibanez rg 3120

Hello! I just bought an ibanez rg3120 in e-bay and i still have to receive it. Actually i realized i don't know much on this model and in general in rg3XXX. this one has been modified w/ pafPro @ neck and a ToneZone @ bridge. Does anyone has feedbacks from this guitar, comments on woods, finishes, opinions on the choice of pickups? I read many discording opinions on the ToneZone. Some people say it's wonderful, other it sucks badly. where's truth? i think 3120 has a LoPro bridge... is it different from Edge Pro? (yep.. i'm a bit ignorant
Thanks a lot!! !!

ps. Mine has red flame maple. are there different models according to the finishes? :P

PPS. last one! I got it for 600 euros. it's all right except for a few small small chips. Is it a nice price? Thanks a lotta, again! Bye<
Tribute is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-11-2005, 01:54 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 352
Re: Ibanez rg 3120

Tone Zone/PAF Pro are the stock pickups in your guitar, it wasn't modified. You'll love the 3120, it's awesome! There is also a twilight blue version. The current models with Edge Pro have different color options now, one being natural.
BTB007 is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-11-2005, 03:20 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 472
Re: Ibanez rg 3120

I have a 3120, awesome guitar, maybe the best sounding guitar of all my RGs, I think you will like it. (However, I'm not sure the variance in sound between my mahogany bodied RGs is greater than the variance between individual 3120s, and the variance isn't so great that my preference doesn't change from time to time.)

BTW, my 3120, which I bought new (in 2000, iirc), is kind of like a TW, but not so blue. It's a kind of weird gray color, but under incandescent lights, it has a tinge of violet to it. This violet disappears under flourescent lights, or sunlight. I've verified the violet tinge is not my imagination by asking a friend what color the guitar was under incandescant lights and without prompting he said, "kind of purpley." Then I took it into the kitchen and asked him, ok, what color is it now? "gray."

What do I have? Is it a 3120TW? Or something else? I've definitely seen TW's that were much more blue than mine. I've seen two others like mine, one was in LA in 2000 in the guitar center on Sunset, and there was a 2nd one like mine i where I bought mine, (GC on Westheimer, in Houston). Those are the only other two like mine I've seen. Someone told me they only made 12 that color, but I'm not sure that was from a knowledgeable source. (The fact that the GC on westheimer had two of them makes me doubt it, for starters.)

As far as the ToneZone, nobody can say in absolute terms if it sucks of if it's great, that is subjective. If you love it, then it's great, if you hate it, then it sucks. You'll just have to try it out. Lucky you!
Ferrous Lepidoptera is offline  
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-13-2005, 07:27 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Re: Ibanez rg 3120

Quote:
Originally Posted by BTB007
Tone Zone/PAF Pro are the stock pickups in your guitar, it wasn't modified.
I ve checked on the ibanez site. under the 3120F (what's the F for?) it states stock pickups are the diMarzio Ibanez... was it different in the old 3120 version? actually does anyone know what did they change?
Tribute is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-13-2005, 08:28 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Argentina
Posts: 2,221
Re: Ibanez rg 3120

The old ones had a Lo Pro trem, and TZ / Paf Pro combo, then they discontinued the 3120 altogether, and now they reintroduced the model, with the new Edge Pro trem and Dimarzio IBZ pickups

The 3120 was already a Prestige model, so the neck was already as sweet as f*ck... new ones should have the two dark stripes and Team J Craft logo... not sure if the profile was altered, tho


Anyway, congrats man, i had one for about 6 months, loved it
marianozz is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-13-2005, 03:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Re: Ibanez rg 3120

Quote:
Originally Posted by marianozz
The old ones had a Lo Pro trem
What's the difference btw a Lo-Pro and the Edge Pro? How's Lo-Pro compared with edge II and III? ? :P
Tribute is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-14-2005, 09:53 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Argentina
Posts: 2,221
Re: Ibanez rg 3120

The original Edge, and Lo Pro Edge trems are the best trems out there, their quality has been proven for almost 20 years, and they always came with locking studs (in the trem posts)

The Edge Pro is the new "good" trem from Ibanez, its got an even lower profile than the Lo Pro, but it lacks locking studs from the factory (easy mod)... Opinions on it are varied, but most people still like the old trems better (i particularly love the original Edge)

Then you have the Edge Pro 2 and 3, which are the korean variations found on cheaper guitars...

Anyway, check out the tech section here at Jemsite for info and pics of all the trems
marianozz is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-14-2011, 12:41 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 8
Re: Ibanez rg 3120

can the edge pro be fitted to my rg 3120 prestige 2001 model? sorry..this may sound stupid..but i need to be sure before buying one...the reason is..i broke one of the locking screws on my lo pro bridge...and they told me its not in production anymore...but it seems that the edge pro is a new replacement for it...or only for the rg3120F? Please help..thanks
RG 1402 is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-14-2011, 01:12 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK/Ireland
Posts: 3,525
Re: Ibanez rg 3120

Quote:
Originally Posted by RG 1402 View Post
can the edge pro be fitted to my rg 3120 prestige 2001 model? sorry..this may sound stupid..but i need to be sure before buying one...the reason is..i broke one of the locking screws on my lo pro bridge...and they told me its not in production anymore...but it seems that the edge pro is a new replacement for it...or only for the rg3120F? Please help..thanks
The info below was originally posted by Jemsite member Nuno so you can go by this:

on IBANEZ EDGE-III cavity:

Ibanez Edge into Edge-III cavity: NO

Ibanez Lo-Pro Edge into Edge-III cavity: NO

Ibanez Edge-Pro into Edge-III cavity: YES

Original Floyd Rose into Edge-III cavity: YES

Schaller Floyd Rose into Edge-III cavity: NO



on IBANEZ EDGE/LoPro EDGE cavity:

Original Floyd Rose into Ibanez Edge/LoPro Edge cavity: YES

Ibanez Edge-Pro into Ibanez Edge/LoPro Edge cavity: YES



on IBANEZ EDGE-PRO/EDGE-PRO II cavity:

Ibanez Edge into Ibanez Edge-Pro/Edge-Pro II cavity: NO

Ibanez Lo-Pro Edge into Ibanez Edge-Pro/Edge-Pro II cavity: NO

Original Floyd Rose into Ibanez Edge-Pro/Edge-Pro II cavity: YES

Schaller Floyd Rose into Ibanez Edge-Pro/Edge-Pro II cavity: NO



on Original FLOYD ROSE cavity:

Ibanez Edge into Original Floyd Rose cavity: YES

Ibanez Lo-Pro Edge into Original Floyd Rose cavity: YES

the TRS/LoTRS/LoTRS-II cavities are not covered as ANY Floyd licensed trem (except maybe Kahler Floyds) can be easily installed in those, no works needed.
IbanezDaemon is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-14-2011, 01:19 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 8
Re: Ibanez rg 3120

Thanks a lot ibanez daemon...this is truly a good news for me...cant imagine myself not playing my RG3120 anymore...now i can...
RG 1402 is offline  
post #11 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-14-2011, 01:29 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK/Ireland
Posts: 3,525
Re: Ibanez rg 3120

Quote:
Originally Posted by RG 1402 View Post
Thanks a lot ibanez daemon...this is truly a good news for me...cant imagine myself not playing my RG3120 anymore...now i can...
No worries dude. Thanks should go to Nuno not me. That info he gave should be stickied imo. Good luck with your guitar!!!
IbanezDaemon is offline  
post #12 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-14-2011, 01:33 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 8
Re: Ibanez rg 3120

Thanks and to you too Nuno for the info...cheers..
RG 1402 is offline  
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-14-2011, 04:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,221
Reviews: 120
Re: Ibanez rg 3120

You should be able to buy a replacement screw. Parts are still available. I'm pretty sure some generic ones will work too.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-14-2011, 05:48 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plainfield, Illinois
Posts: 2,810
Reviews: 11
Re: Ibanez rg 3120

Quote:
Originally Posted by RG 1402 View Post
can the edge pro be fitted to my rg 3120 prestige 2001 model? sorry..this may sound stupid..but i need to be sure before buying one...the reason is..i broke one of the locking screws on my lo pro bridge...and they told me its not in production anymore...but it seems that the edge pro is a new replacement for it...or only for the rg3120F? Please help..thanks
you can get a lo-pro brand new from rich. but i dont think he has that weird violetish chrome color so you'd have to get regular chrome to match the rest. not that it matters, you couldnt really see the purple anyway. wait.......was that on the rg3120 ot just the rgT3120? because i know the RGT does. well whether it does or not, you can still get lo-pro's brand new

CORRECTION!! he DOES have it! 1 left in stock. so if you have the violet chrome, buy it from him. no sense in downgrading right?

Last edited by D.M.RG7620; 02-14-2011 at 06:06 PM.
D.M.RG7620 is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-14-2011, 11:43 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 8
Re: Ibanez rg 3120

Quote:
Originally Posted by LonePhantom View Post
You should be able to buy a replacement screw. Parts are still available. I'm pretty sure some generic ones will work too.
thats the problem..they dont have it here and they couldnt even find a lo pro edge for me..they said that its not available anymore...so i dont have much option...but they said that an edge pro is still good..and..who's rich btw...sorry..i'm new here..
RG 1402 is offline  
Reply

Tags
dimarzio ibz , edge pro trem , edge trem , edge trems , flame maple , locking stud , locking studs , paf pro , paf pro combo , pro combo , pro edge , pro edge trem , pro edge trems , sounding guitar , tone zone

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB/WTT Any Ibanez 3120 s4hil_223 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 5 12-14-2011 05:30 PM
FS/FT Ibanez RG 3120(18v emg) got_tone Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 1 09-03-2010 07:48 PM
WTB Ibanez RG 3120 TW RaV Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 02-05-2009 02:42 PM
WTB Ibanez 3120 elpingua Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 1 05-09-2007 11:32 PM
2002's RG 3120 vs. 2005's RG 3120 Prestige [email protected] All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 0 01-23-2006 11:25 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome