Ibanez RG2550EX - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-20-2004, 02:15 AM Thread Starter

Ibanez RG2550EX

Hi!
I'm new to this forum!

And I have a question:
I've been playing guitar for 6 years but I've never owned an Ibanez, do you guys think that the Rg2550 is a good choice for a first Ibanez?

Thanks!
-Daniel
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-20-2004, 03:30 AM

Depends what you are looking for in a guitar, but yes.

Having said that you can pick up RG550's (the 2550's predecessor) second hand very cheaply.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-20-2004, 05:57 AM

Yes, I would recommend getting a used RG550 too. Way cheaper and the bridge is better too.
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-20-2004, 09:47 AM Thread Starter

Okey, I'll check If i can find a rg550.
Thanks alot for the answers.
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-20-2004, 02:52 PM

I happen to own a RG2550EXGK and are very happy with it. Very good quality guitar with one of best performing and best looking trem bridges out there. It's my most favorite guitar.

If you don't want to buy new, I would suggest getting an older RG550. The RG550LTD has rosewood fretboard and others have a maple one.
Older RG5XX's have the Edge trem, the newer ones the Lo Pro Edge.
The latest ones the Edge Pro trem.

All these three trems are considered the best trems in the world. They all have little different feel to them that's why some people prefer one over the other.

The old ones don't have the AANJ (All Acess Neck Joint). I prefer the newer AANJ ones, because of better looks and better access to the upper frets.

Quote:
Way cheaper and the bridge is better too.