Ibanez SV5470 fixed bridge mode - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-20-2010, 11:57 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: singapore
Posts: 3
Ibanez SV5470 fixed bridge mode

I recently purchased a super kewl SV5470. I am wondering since I dont use the whammy bar too much, I want to keep the bridge in a "fixed bridge mode" or "hard tail mode". I want to do this because it adds sustain if the bridge is fixed. Is this possible to set the trem like this?
antishred is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-21-2010, 12:14 AM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,610
Re: Ibanez SV5470 fixed bridge mode

That's what the bolt is for in the spring unit. Run the bolt out until it meets the trem block, then crank the springs to max [or close] and you'll have basically a vintage type bridge setup.
Rich is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-21-2010, 12:59 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: singapore
Posts: 3
Re: Ibanez SV5470 fixed bridge mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
That's what the bolt is for in the spring unit. Run the bolt out until it meets the trem block, then crank the springs to max [or close] and you'll have basically a vintage type bridge setup.
thanks Rich, do you have a link with a photo of the bolt? I looked at the manual but the instruction is for a generic trem not the zr trem
antishred is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-21-2010, 01:32 AM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,610
Re: Ibanez SV5470 fixed bridge mode

Look in the back of your guitar, you can't miss it.
Rich is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-21-2010, 08:05 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: singapore
Posts: 3
Re: Ibanez SV5470 fixed bridge mode

If I do what you have suggested, will my bridge be a fixed bridge or a dive only bridge?
antishred is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-21-2010, 12:07 PM
Vendor
 
Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 25,610
Re: Ibanez SV5470 fixed bridge mode

dive only. don't use the bar and it's fixed.
Rich is offline  
Reply

Tags
sv5470

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ibanez SV5470 Bridge/Trem Arm LennyX All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 2 04-22-2009 10:31 PM
What fixed bridge Ibanez ? Armann All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 10 09-24-2008 08:11 PM
What do you think is the best fixed bridge Ibanez? pushpin&poetry All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 40 03-31-2008 06:24 PM
WTB: FIxed bridge Ibanez TequilaKing Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 1 07-24-2007 09:13 AM
fixed bridge on a floating bridge ibanez..questions Ki swordsman Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 15 10-17-2005 07:43 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome