Identifying an old RG. Need help! - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-03-2014, 05:12 PM Thread Starter

Identifying an old RG. Need help!

Hello Jemsite!

I'm quite a newbie here but I read the forum from time to time. There's a guitar I'm very interested in. The problem is I don't even know what model is it, never saw RGs like that. It's an RGR (reverse head RG), black body with two humbuckers. USA-like heel routing on the rear. Japanese neckplate. V7/V8 pickups (well, those could be swapped easily). The serial on the headstock says F04 xxxx, so the neck is obviously Japanese from 90.

The seller claims it's a 1990 "RGR520", but I didn't find out if 520's ever existed in the early 90's so I highly doubt this is the one. My guess is that the body and neck are from different guitars, but the thing is I can't find any early 90's RG with such a body or with such a neck.

So I'd be very grateful if anybody can tell something about this axe. Here are some pics (since I can't post normal links I'll post it without "http" - if somebody can post them properly, please do me a favor ):

sweetguitars.ru/img/full_guitar4164_2.jpg

sweetguitars.ru/img/full_guitar4164_4.jpg

sweetguitars.ru/img/full_guitar4164_9.jpg

sweetguitars.ru/img/full_guitar4164_5.jpg
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-03-2014, 05:36 PM

Reviews: 6
Re: Identifying an old RG. Need help!