Inexperienced player and an old s1520 - road to pain or pleasure? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-31-2013, 06:51 AM Thread Starter

Inexperienced player and an old s1520 - road to pain or pleasure?

Hi Jemsite!

Short introduction: I've been playing for about 3 years now, more or less reguraly. I think I've developed musically and technically, but I still consider myself a guitar newbie. My current guitar is an ART-120, which is my 3rd axe already (previous ones were so cheap they aren't worth mentioning). I've had contact with some much more pricier instruments, including FR, RG and S prestige. The last one was something miraculous. I knew I wouldn't be able to afford it anytime soon (costing 6x my guitar), but nevertheless I fell in love with it.

I bought this LesPaul-ish instrument from a friend, because of good condition and neat price. Its active pickups have proven to sound acceptable on quite bad amps and modelers, and I am generally quite happy with it. However, as I improved, I kept looking for the possibility to own an S.

That's how I found a guy selling a beauty, s1520 Prestige FB NT (flamed bubinga top), which I dated on 2001. It still has good 'ole Lo Pro and ceramic Quantum Pickups. And the price is amazing. I am going to meet the guy tomorrow and, if everything goes well, probably come back with it. However, I've been reading a lot about Edge bridges, and, simply put, I am afraid. I am an engineering student, so I can cope with electronical problems, but woodwork is something that's miraculously elusive for me.