Installing EMG's in a RGA121? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-28-2008, 01:07 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 41
Installing EMG's in a RGA121?

Stupid question from someone who has NEVER installed pickups (much less active ones) in his life. I have some grand plans of dropping dual EMG 89's into a lucky MIJ Ibanez guitar. I noticed that the RGA121 does not have pickup rings. As dumb as this sounds, does that mean that installing EMG's is a no-no? Is there some work that needs to be done to the pickup or the body to get them to install?

Muchos gracias.

- Tony
TonyG73 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-28-2008, 03:01 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 45
Re: Installing EMG's in a RGA121?

EMG 89 will fit on the RGA121 even with no pickup rings. It will be a body mount. to adjust the height, you must put a foam under the pickups.

something like this:


and will look like this after installation:
kevlahnota is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-28-2008, 09:34 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 41
Re: Installing EMG's in a RGA121?

Thanks for the quick reply and pics! It doesn't sound like it would be too stable to have foam under the pickups...also doesn't that detract from the tone?

Truth be told I'm trying to score an Ibanez SC420 to put my EMG 89's in (which does have pickup rings)...for the RGA121 I'm thinking of Bare Knuckle Pickups...probably ceramic warpig bridge, alnico V warpig neck with 4 conductor wiring.
TonyG73 is offline  
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-28-2008, 10:18 AM
Moderator
 
Ayrton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 4,209
Re: Installing EMG's in a RGA121?

Using foam under the pup is quite common, and in some cases better than springs for stability. Using foam as the "spring" has no effect out sound. (There EMGs anyway, nothing will make them sound good )
Ayrton is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-28-2008, 12:17 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 41
Re: Installing EMG's in a RGA121?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayrton View Post
Using foam under the pup is quite common, and in some cases better than springs for stability. Using foam as the "spring" has no effect out sound. (There EMGs anyway, nothing will make them sound good )
LOL! Alright don't make fun of me pickups! :P

Reality is they ain't the prettiest sounding but live with distortion nothing (and not even Bare Knuckle) beats an EMG 85 in the bridge for power and silence when you need it. Especially if you do the 18 volt mod!

EMG's do two things very well...supply tons of power and they remain quiet. I love Bare Knuckle Pickups...absolutely love them...but they ones I have owned (particularly the Holy Divers and Warpigs) were NOT quiet at all. Now for Strat pickups, I wouldn't be caught dead using EMGs. Bare Knuckle Apaches all the way. For a Les Paul? Bare Knuckle Mules. For my band that plays covers (rock and metal) Two EMG 89's please
TonyG73 is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-28-2008, 12:18 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 41
Re: Installing EMG's in a RGA121?

Thanks for the info guys, this is a great forum!
TonyG73 is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-28-2008, 03:14 PM
Moderator
 
Ayrton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 4,209
Re: Installing EMG's in a RGA121?

While you know I am not a huge fan of active pickups, you may want to consider trying Seymour Duncan's new "Blackouts". The EMG users seem to love them, and claim they are everything an EMG is and more.
Ayrton is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-28-2008, 04:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 41
Re: Installing EMG's in a RGA121?

I'll definitely take a look at those...I have had great luck with Seymour Duncans including Hot Rails and a '59 in my Tele and a JB and a 59 in my ESP/Edwards Les Paul.

Thanks!

EDIT: I just bought a set of those for $148.60 on ****! Brand new. Should be here along with the new guitar (Ibanez SC420) I ordered by end of week. Once I have them installed and the guitar set up I will post pics.

All reviews I read in the last hour swear that the Blackouts kill EMGs...we shall see.

Last edited by TonyG73; 10-28-2008 at 06:18 PM.
TonyG73 is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-28-2008, 08:47 PM
Moderator
 
Ayrton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 4,209
Re: Installing EMG's in a RGA121?

My work here is done...
Ayrton is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-29-2008, 04:31 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cali
Posts: 357
Re: Installing EMG's in a RGA121?

eradicating EMG's, one guitarist at a time.




not that I support your movement.
Foulacy is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-29-2008, 07:18 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Warsaw
Posts: 275
Re: Installing EMG's in a RGA121?

EMGs are fine and cool, don't diss 'em.
But there's that little something in passive DiMarzios, that made me sell my trusty 89-85 pair

=)
LowYaw is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-30-2008, 04:12 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 41
Re: Installing EMG's in a RGA121?

Scratch the Duncans...for my new SC420 (thanks Sevenstringer!!!) I found out that I'd have to drill and put different pickup rings and the cavity is too small for a 9 volt battery. I don't want active pickups that bad...instead I went with a Dimarzio MegaDrive (oldie but goodie) in the bridge and a PAF pro in the neck.


If anyone wants a brandy-new set of blackouts I hear someone is selling them in the classifieds...
TonyG73 is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-30-2008, 05:06 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,246
Reviews: 120
Re: Installing EMG's in a RGA121?

You couldn't fit the battery in? Thats' a surprise. A number of people have managed to fit in a 9 volt in the S guitars before.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-30-2008, 07:02 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,391
Re: Installing EMG's in a RGA121?

just put it in the control cavity...
callen3615 is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-30-2008, 09:17 PM
 
taracatac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,048
Re: Installing EMG's in a RGA121?

I have an RGA321 w/ EMGs, and an S540 w/ EMGs and 18v mod. Contrary to popular belief, you can get a wide array of tones with them. You just have to set your amp properly and use your tone and vol knobs. One of these days I will record a sample with a clean tone. Maybe this weekend.
taracatac is offline  
Reply

Tags
emg , rga121

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FT: Natural RGA121 Body for Black RGA121 body Maggot Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 09-29-2008 04:24 PM
Installing EMGs in an RGA121 nutbehindthewheel All Other Guitars (including Prestige) 15 09-27-2007 09:24 AM
am i installing this right? -Rhaab Pickups & wiring 5 03-01-2007 07:10 PM
installing new pups toma Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 6 08-19-2005 07:05 PM
Installing a cliplock phlame Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 11 10-20-2004 07:35 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome