Is J-Custom the way to go for the 'perfect guitar'? - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 46 (permalink) Old 02-25-2008, 09:05 AM Thread Starter

Is J-Custom the way to go for the 'perfect guitar'?

Has anyone here found their 'perfect guitar', the #1, the 'cannot be beat' axe that is perfect for them in every way?

Maybe it's nit-picking but I'm still searching for that elusive super-axe. I've got a few guitars right now that are close, but not quite there 100%.

I've been playing Ibanez since 1985 or thereabouts, and have been through quite a few over the years. I've kinda settled on the RG as being what I want in a guitar in terms of neck shape (Wizard), trem (Edge or Edge Pro) and pup configuration/type (HH or HSH with coil taps).

Currently I have a 20th RG550 which is as near to my perfect axe as I've gotten so far. All it's missing in being my #1 dream is a nice flamed maple top and headstock, although in DY it's my fave solid colour. In terms of playability and sound it's perfect for me.

I also have an RG3120, great sound, great feel, I can't get the action quite as low as I'd like without buzzing despite tweaking the heck out of it, and the top isn't as nice as some of the amazing finishes I've seen here. It's a keeper though (for now!).

So my question to J-Custom owners is whether they have satisfied your search for the perfect guitar, or whether even you guys are still looking for perfection?

Do the J-Customs give that final push over the cliff in terms of attention to detail, manufacturing quality, feel and sound compared to the best Prestiges available here in the UK?

I've done a few searches on the board and got some good information, but just wanted to find out current owners thoughts who have lived with the J-C's for a while.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement