Locking Tuners for Hardtails - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2014, 04:07 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Locking Tuners for Hardtails

Hello,

I ordered a set of grover locking machine heads for my 1451 and the screw holes don't match up. This guitar is meant to be a player so I guess the unsightly extra holes wouldn't matter much.

Also, they are true black so they don't technically match the cosmo tight end bridge. I'm not sure that bothers me much. I wish the TE was black.

Anyway, all that makes me wonder what are our options for locking machine heads for prestige rg's that don't require any modification? Anything that is also cosmo?

As always, thanks for the help.
erawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2014, 04:27 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,270
Reviews: 120
Re: Locking Tuners for Hardtails

You looked straight past the brand that was already on your guitar - Gotoh!

Gotoh MAgnum locking tuners look just like what you've got (in Cosmo black, etc) and have the same screw hole.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2014, 11:11 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 182
Re: Locking Tuners for Hardtails

I have Gotoh's on my sc620, I don't really like them. They look original, but they don't lock that well. The problem is that they use string tension to tighten the locking screw, so it keeps dropping out of tune as the screw tightens. String changes are really easy though.
just4kinks is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2014, 03:59 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,270
Reviews: 120
Re: Locking Tuners for Hardtails

Quote:
Originally Posted by just4kinks View Post
I have Gotoh's on my sc620, I don't really like them. They look original, but they don't lock that well. The problem is that they use string tension to tighten the locking screw, so it keeps dropping out of tune as the screw tightens. String changes are really easy though.
I can't say I've ever had that issue with my Gotoh locking tuners. I've used then for over a year now and none of these issues.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2014, 06:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Re: Locking Tuners for Hardtails

Thanks for the replies.

LonePhantom, I looked for the gotohs but I only found them available one place.

121249192585

They're $120 shipped. I paid $40 for the grovers. Do you think I could find a better deal on the magnums? Are those even the correct ones?
erawk is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2014, 06:38 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Re: Locking Tuners for Hardtails

The grovers say they are "self locking". Does that mean they operate on string tension as well?
erawk is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2014, 06:52 PM
 
CosmicDebris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond VA, USA
Posts: 3,986
Re: Locking Tuners for Hardtails

Planet Waves Auto Trim Locking Tuners. I put them on all my Edge Pro Ibbys as they drop right in. Makes string changes easier. They also come on Ibanez JS1600.
CosmicDebris is online  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2014, 07:01 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,270
Reviews: 120
Re: Locking Tuners for Hardtails

Quote:
Originally Posted by erawk View Post
Thanks for the replies.

LonePhantom, I looked for the gotohs but I only found them available one place.

121249192585

They're $120 shipped. I paid $40 for the grovers. Do you think I could find a better deal on the magnums? Are those even the correct ones?
Those 510 version are expensive, look for the SG381 ones, they are much cheaper. There are a bunch of them on eBay.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2014, 10:17 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: Locking Tuners for Hardtails

http://www.amplifiedparts.com/products/P-GGT-43-C
RGTFanatic is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-12-2014, 10:19 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,116
Reviews: 2
Re: Locking Tuners for Hardtails

Quote:
Originally Posted by CosmicDebris View Post
Planet Waves Auto Trim Locking Tuners. I put them on all my Edge Pro Ibbys as they drop right in. Makes string changes easier. They also come on Ibanez JS1600.
These look pretty exciting...... I'll have to try a set myself.
RGTFanatic is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-13-2014, 05:18 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 38
Re: Locking Tuners for Hardtails

Quote:
Originally Posted by CosmicDebris View Post
Planet Waves Auto Trim Locking Tuners. I put them on all my Edge Pro Ibbys as they drop right in. Makes string changes easier. They also come on Ibanez JS1600.
I put these in my Gio Mikro, as the stock tuners weren't good & it was going out of tune all the time. I did have to enlarge the holes a little bit, but I'm glad I did it. They snip off the new strings as you're tuning up so you don't need a wire cutter - plus it hasn't gone out of tune since.
Surveyor 777 is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-14-2014, 02:35 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Re: Locking Tuners for Hardtails

Quote:
Originally Posted by RGTFanatic View Post

Thanks RGTFanatic
Are these cosmo, I'm not sure from the pics?
erawk is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-14-2014, 02:39 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Re: Locking Tuners for Hardtails

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surveyor 777 View Post
I put these in my Gio Mikro, as the stock tuners weren't good & it was going out of tune all the time. I did have to enlarge the holes a little bit, but I'm glad I did it. They snip off the new strings as you're tuning up so you don't need a wire cutter - plus it hasn't gone out of tune since.
These are on sale right now at gc. I haven't decided if the black/cosmo thing is going to bother me or not. I'm going to throw the black grovers on just to see before I order.

Thanks for the replies, you all are awesome for sharing your knowledge.
erawk is offline  
Reply

Tags
locking , rg1451 , tuners

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRS se 24 -- Locking tuners fowl2338 Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 11-17-2010 10:58 PM
ZR tremolo with locking tuners, no locking nut? sgian Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 06-01-2007 07:35 AM
Locking tuners AARRGGHHH Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 4 01-29-2006 07:05 PM
Locking Tuners - to replace my gotoh tuners cowcowcow Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 8 01-15-2002 09:17 AM
Sperzel locking tuners & non-locking nut - for a fixed bridg jemsite Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 9 03-22-2001 11:51 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome