MIJ 1990 rg550 vs Premium rg1xxv - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-20-2017, 10:09 PM Thread Starter

MIJ 1990 rg550 vs Premium rg1xxv

What guitar would you guys go for if both were being sold for $500? is the old 90s mij 550 better than the new one in terms of fretwork? I mostly just want low action and minimal fret buzz and a thinner neck. I'm somewhat new to ibanez guitars so any input would be great.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-29-2017, 11:31 PM

Re: MIJ 1990 rg550 vs Premium rg1xxv

Hello Elatria.

I notice that no one has yet replied to you, so I taught I would write a bit based on my knowledge and hope to get other people more knowledgeable or that happen to have experience with both guitars to weight in.

I own a Premium RG1XXV shocking Pink guitar, and I am personally very happy with it. I have never used an RG550 from the early 90's, so I can't really judge on how they would exactly compare in sound quality and fretwork.

What I could mention is that the MIJ 550 based from a quick search online, comes with the Edge tremolo and is well known that these guitars from that period of time have a really good quality of craftsmanship.
http://ibanez.wikia.com/wiki/RG550_(1987%E2%80%931994)

They also have the features that were popular at the time, in contrast to the Premium that has seen the evolution of the RG with updated revisions to the classic design by incorporating the ibanez AANJ neck for extra comfort, adding the neck volute and multiple woods to strengthen the neck from cracks which the older design is prone to suffer. Also the RG1XXV comes with the Edge-Zero II with the ZPS3Fe system on the back to allow to adjust the springs of the tremolo with a knob.