My edge pro and tuning - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-29-2003, 05:50 AM Thread Starter

My edge pro and tuning

I've just bought my first Ibanez guitar (I already have 2 Ibanez basses though), it's a lovely Rg1570 in Black. I've never used a FR style trem before but have got used to tuning it now, the problem I have though is when I pull back on the trem, edge pro, anymore than a tone the thing goes well out of tune, like each string goes out by about a semi tone. Is this the norm or should I stick to just going down?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-29-2003, 06:58 AM

If the guitar is new, implying the strings are also new, then the strings probably need to stretch some. That's a few days of not staying in tune (i.e. play, tune, play, tune, etc). If after some time you're still going out of tune, then check that the locking nuts are tight.

After that, you should check the tech sections just to be sure you have everything setup properly.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-29-2003, 12:53 PM
Vendor

It takes 15 minites to stretch strings, not days, but I'm betting you're returning sharp which has nothing to do with string stretch.

http://www.ibanezrules.com/tech.htm#Sets
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-29-2003, 06:08 PM Thread Starter

Cheers guys, it seems to be better now, I gave it a good half hour intensive crazy slayer style work out and it seems to be better. The tech bit on your site was great thanks Rich. Also I was tuning ok in the beginning but the intonation is a bit out, I'm a bit scared to do anything about it at the moment coz i've just bought it and don't want to do anything stupid like break a part of the trem.
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-29-2003, 06:13 PM
Vendor