My first home build guitar. Ibanez Custom V with ZR. - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 11-16-2011, 02:32 PM Thread Starter

Reviews: 9
My first home build guitar. Ibanez Custom V with ZR.

Hey all,

I thought I'd share my first "real" guitar project with you all. To the luthiers in here, please don't laugh at me too hard! It's my first time...I'm sure a lot can be improved. I have learned a lot and the next guitar I build will be better as I know what NOT to do.

I bought the neck on ebay without knowing anything about Ibanez parts, so I bought an RG320DX neck made in Indonesia...If I had known better, I would have gotten a Prestige neck, or at least a MIJ neck.

I didn't take any pictures of the body when I got it. It was just a triangle of mahogany.

Just test fitting the neck.

Properly routed for the ferrules.

Started routing the pickup and trem cavities. The trem stud spacing took a lot of trial and error on a piece of scrap wood as I didn't have exact measurements.

Cut too much off the top here. =( Nothing a cavity cover can't hide...

S style input jack...I like it here best.

Ready for wiring.

Final product. I decided not to paint it. But I still might in the future.

You can't tell in the pictures, but I scallopped frets 12-24. I was told by a professional tech that I did a really good scallop job...He asked if I had done it before.

The pickup is a DiMarzio Evolution. Also, having had a ZR1 equipped guitar in the past, I knew of the arm socket issues, so I got a Schaller arm socket and bar. It's a direct replacement and I love it more than even a ZR2 arm socket.

Critiques and comments welcome, but please remember, this is the first guitar I have ever built. So don't tear me a new one if you don't have to lol!

Thanks,

Andrew
Sponsored Links