Need help on a guitar purchase - Jemsite
All Other Guitars (including Prestige) Discussion about other Ibanez Guitars not covered in the above topics. Includes J-Custom, USA-Custom, Prestige subforum.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-10-2009, 08:08 PM Thread Starter

Question Need help on a guitar purchase

Hi everyone,

Im a intermediate guitar player that plays very often. Im 16 so 'studies come first' and all but I am just so passionate about guitar. Ive been playing for over two years now. Ive owned a very bad guitar, very bad, for this whole time, and ive been saving up to buy a nice guitar. I love PRS guitars, but my favourites are the Ibanez guitars, Jem, Herman Li's, Paul Gilbert's. My budjet is about 1000$ but I want to get a guitar at 800$ or less so that I can get some more pedals. I play jazz, blues, rock, hard rock, metal ( a lot of Led Zep, Steve Vai, Rolling Stones, Queen, Static X ) and so I need a pretty versatile guitar.
I considered the Jem7v but its way out of my budjet and even used ( i had seen a couple running on ****/ craigslist ) for 1400-1600$ i cant/couldnt afford it. So I considered buying the Jem 555, I haven't tried it yet and I am hoping I can find it used for around 600-900$ ( i have already seen sold on **** a jem555 at 680$ and the buyer left a comment saying that it was real etc..) The thing is everyone is saying that it sucks. I mean it has edge pro 2 or 3 and evo pickups and im pretty sure the neck dimensions are almost identical to the 7v. And i have read many go reviews about this guitar, and the only bad ones were talking customer service, or how ugly it is compared to the 'real' Jems, or that it wasnt setup correctly when they bought it...